Help fix our house and transform our garden in Corfu, Greece



Enregistré comme favori 119 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

  • Description


    4 years ago we bought a property and a piece of land in a beeeaauutiful location in Corfu. It is a big house split into 4 separate apartments and about an acre of undeveloped land. Our goal is to finish fixing the house up to rent out rooms over the summer season and to turn the garden into a beautiful space with different hang out areas, an outside kitchen, pond and a productive organic garden based on permaculture principles. At the moment the house is connected to mains electricity and water but we plan to move towards being completely off grid! So far all our hot water comes from solar power...
    We have started letting rooms out during the tourist season and hope to extend that this year. We are planning to build an outside kitchen for everyone to use, and some new garden beds are planned too. Coronavirus has got in the way of our vegetable growing plans, and restricted our time here to just August this year sadly. So we would be glad of some help, as we only have this short time to make the progress we hope for this year.
    This is a very quiet, rural part of Corfu, surrounded by olive groves, neighbouring a lovely taverna, 5 min walk from Halikounas beach, 15 min walk to the base of a small mountain/big hill and is next to Korission lagoon which is surrounded by a nature reserve with lots of walking paths through it. The closest village, Agios Mattheos is a wonderful traditional place on the side of the mountain 6km away and really you're never too far from anything on an island!
    We are an english family with some greek ancestry ( the name Pyrgos means 'fire tower' in greek!), working on our dreams of one day being as much greek as we are english! We work in England most of the year but spend as much time as we can in Corfu and aim to be able to live there within the next few years - it's a hard place to stay away from! We're all very laid back, friendly people and want the experience to be as much fun as it is hard work.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aider à la maison
    Projets artistiques

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Corfu is an incredible island full of beautiful beaches, amazing food and incredibly friendly people. Life here is lived in the slow lane with a lot of time taken sat outside cafes and bars with a coffee or a beer chatting breeze in the sunshine. There are so many different foods to try and its all sooo fresh, I've never had a tomato anywhere else that's tasted quite so good! There are a lot different seasonal festivals ranging from the ones specific to a town to whole island celebrations and visitors are always warmly received.

  • Aide


    So the focus for the coming 12 months will be improving the garden beds and completing the pergola and outside kitchen/ eating area, along with some re-painting of outside railings and areas. Any creative design input is greatly appreciated! And then there is always lots of garden maintenance - cutting grass, and hedges, weeding planted areas, watering as well as planting and tending of the planted. we just found a new source of horse manure so have become a bit obsessed with shifting as much as possible to our garden to rot down and improve the very poor and sandy soil
    Skills are a bonus and if you let us know your expertese we may be able plan a project around that you can offer. But none of us are particularly experienced with this sort of stuff either, we are learning so much as we find our way, so really enthusiasm and a willingness to contribute are the key things to bring with you!
    Also we love people who like to cook as much as we do! We are vegetarian, and love to experience other peoples' 'favourite dishes from around the world.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Greek: Débutant
    French: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    You may have a studio to yourself, complete with a bed, a balcony, and bathroom. The hot water comes from solar panels so it can be a little chilly early in the mornings but as soon as the sun is up there is no issue. You can eat with us (vegetarian) usually DIY breakfast, and one cooked meal a day with a mid day snack. We are literally 5 minutes walk from the beach which is a glorious long 5km stretch of sand. This is a very rural area, the nearest shops are several km away - 45 minutes walk to Agios Mattheos although its usually easy to hitch a lift.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is lots to explore in the immediate locality if you like nature and to be outdoors. The beach is very popular for kite surfing and boards can be hired there and there are other lovely local beaches to discover, each very dfferent. There are ancient buildings and places to visit if you have a sense of adventure, willing to find your way using local buses - we are happy to drive you to the main road to access transport. Most people enjoy this area for the peaceful and beautiful nature.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Wifi signal is reliably strong in most part of the building. Workaway visitors have their own ensuite room with a table and chairs on the balcony suitable for working at. We can be flexible about when jobs are done although it is practical to work morning or evening due to the intense heat.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    large green space at the front of the house which would be fine for a campervan.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    maybe... by discussion please! We are definitely animal lovers and have our own menagerie in the UK, so open to the possibility of well behaved and social dogs, cats and ? other accompanying equally well behaved and social workaway volunteers!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 312334724794