Eco-farm volunteer help needed in Castelo Branco, Portugal



Enregistré comme favori 55 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    Hi, we are a couple, I am an english man (Mark) and i have my russian girlfriend living with me (Diana) Also my lovely 10 year old son (who was born here) is with me for the weekends. I speak english and a little Portuguese, Diana speaks Russian, english and some portuguese. My son speaks fluent english and portuguese. Also living here are six dogs, six cats, lots of chickens, two donkeys and many lizards and tortoises outdoors. Three of my dogs are very big, all the dogs are very friendly. It's important you like dogs and cats if you want to come here. But most of the time the dogs are outdoors. The exception being during extremes of weather, especially in the summer when they are indoors during the day.

    I have a thick walled granite house, basic but comfortable, PV solar panels, with mains electricity, and solar water heating with backup when the sun does not shine. So there is always running hot and cold water. The house is heated with a large wood stove from logs cut on the farm. WIFI available, British and Portuguese TV. The place is very quiet and tranquil, and perfect if you like animals and wildlife.

    The house is cosy and rustic. One main room for rest with fire place and a cooking area, and a shared bathroom. I have a 2nd house in the village where guests can sleep. I can drop guests back at the village house in the evening some time between dinner, and bedtime, and then collect them in the mornings for workdays. The village house has a bathroom and toilet with hot and cold water, but no wifi. All three meals can be eaten with us, or breakfast can be had at the village house. I am vegetarian, nearly vegan. Diana is not. But she does not eat meat all the time There are always plenty of eggs from my own chickens. I would like help with preparation and cooking please !! Normally you need to prepare your own breakfast and lunch with food provided, and we can share the cooking of evening meals.

    I expect 20 hours of help please, i.e 4 hours a day for 5 days a week. Plus on top of that help cooking meals.

    The vegetable garden is run on organic principles, no nasty sprays, or inorganic fertilisers here. At the moment the vegetable garden is full of organic summer veggies.

    Please no smokers here, non smokers only.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I hope I can show visitors the surrounding area, and it may be possible to visit some amazing places like Monsanto, or Vilha velha de rodao. I am certainly pretty knowledgeable about local wildlife, and I can help you identify some the incredible fauna and flora found locally. I love sharing my love of local wildlife.

  • Aide


    Help needed with bramble/shrub clearance, gardening, cleaning out stables, feeding some animals. Cutting wood for fire, and other similar work. The farm is unusual in that I keep a lot of lizards outdoors in very large vivariums, so help with providing fresh water would be very useful. NO need for hands on work with the lizards.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    Two single beds in a shared room for guests at our village house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    BY car 20 mins from Castelo Branco, 40 mins to Monsanto, 60 mins to Covilhã and the Estrela Mountains. The nearby village is about a 20-25 min walk from the farm.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 311131321493