mis à jour   Last minute

Enjoy Maine while helping a multicultural family breathe life into a century old home in Boothbay Harbor, United States

  • Enregistré comme favori 70 fois
  • Activité récente: 20 févr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a multilingual family of 5 that has recently moved from Spain to my family's 19th century home in the middle of the beautiful town of BOOTHBAY HARBOR. The house has been in my family for almost 50 years and after moving away when I was a child I always dreamed of finding a way to move back. Through many twists and turns, and meeting my husband who thought my dream could actually be his dream too, we've finally found a way to make this a reality.

    So, we finally found our way to Maine, but the house is huge! Which is both a blessing and curse, there's plenty of room, but also plenty to do. We are also a very busy family with three children aged 2 to 8 years old. We've always enjoyed getting to know people from other cultures and we welcomed aupairs to our home in Spain for 4 years. This led us to think that a work stay arrangement might suit both our family's needs, but also offer other people a way to better understand our cultures (Catalan, Spanish and American) and of course be able to enjoy the beautiful place where we live.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a multilingual/multicultural family. My husband is Catalan and I am an American that grew up in French speaking Quebec. We can help people perfect and learn English, Spanish or French. We also love to celebrate each cultures different holidays. Other than a vibrant cultural family life we live in a region that offers a wide variety of outdoor activities.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    *****FOR FEBUARY ****** Since Winter in Maine is cold our outdoor projects are on hold for the moment. We are looking for people who can help us with day to day tasks, keeping our children company while we tackle other projects and small maintenance and upkeep projects.

    *******For the rest of the year **************

    Our Spring/Summer projects will probably include
    Building raised beds
    Repairing Gutters
    Painting outdoor/indoor
    Repairing a ceiling
    Assorted yard work
    Cleaning windows

    And if you are not particularly handy we can also use help with day to day chores and following the toddler around.

    Our beautiful home was empty for many winters and now needs updating such as painting and in some places a thorough cleaning. The yard has been left rampant and the trees, shrubs and bushes need pruning and care. We also would like to do some repairs to the outside of the house such as replacing gutters, some rotted siding and maybe, hopefully build a small deck of the kitchen. My husband loves to do these projects, but with our three small children it's been hard to find the time to get them done. Although we are not looking for specific help with the kids we are hoping that our guests will want to teach them about where they're from and give us a hand with them so we can get things done around the house. It would also be great if our travellers would cook a meal or two. Also we expect everyone to pitch in with cleaning up after meals and meal prep.

    We expect our travellers to help between 3-4 hours a day, but we are flexible. For example if you would like to get a particular task done in a day and then have a day or two off to do your own thing we are fine with that. We also aren't very picky as to the schedule, except if you offer to cook a meal, then we do need to eat on time since the kids will get grumpy :) There are many tasks to choose from so you can choose what you like best.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Catalan: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Our traveller will have a bedroom on the third floor of our house and a separate bathroom. The room has a double bed so we would also welcome couples. Our travellers are more than welcome to share our meals with us, but we cannot accommodate special requests such as lactose free, gluten free or vegan meals. Although we are not vegetarian we like lots of vegetables, so we can usually fin vegetarian options for our travellers. We expect our travelers to meet their own needs for snacks and if they are very specific about what they eat.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    BOOTHBAY HARBOR is a beautiful coastal town in Midcoast Maine. In the Summer there are many boating possibilities along with hiking and swimming, in the Fall hiking and enjoying foliage are some key activities and in the winter Maine offer different winter sports such as skiing and skating.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Although we are in town our driveway and yard are quite spacious.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Our kids would love a pet, unfortunately right now we feel like we can't make that commitment, but we love animals and don't have any problem with sharing our space with them.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3-4h/day, 5 days/week

N° de référence hôte : 299287463765

Photos

Feedback


Come help milk goats and make cheese with our family in isolated New Mexico, USA
Join our family and help with daily family life near Saint Louis Missouri, USA