Help required with our native fruits on a 20 acre property near Lismore, NSW, Australia



Enregistré comme favori 58 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    My husband and I live on a 20 acre property 15 minutes drive from the town of Lismore, 20 minutes to the coast, in northern NSW. The property is dominated by a regenerated rainforest with plantings of native foods, including finger limes and Davidson plums.

    We purchased the property in 1993 and raised our three kids here, who have since left home.
    Thousands of trees have been planted over the years to create what has become our own forest paradise. A small permanent creek meanders through the property. The fruit requires picking in the summer months. This has become a job too great for the two of us. Our eldest daughter, who used Workaway to volunteer during her travels in South America, suggested we set up a profile.

    We are easy going and enjoy more than anything, spending time in the natural environment that we have created which has grown to completely surround us. We have a lots of wildlife including wallabies, birds, reptiles, frogs, yabbies, with rare sightings of platypus.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide dans une ferme

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are happy to share with volunteers the knowledge we have gained through the cultivation of the above mentioned native fruits and forest. Steve works on a property a few days a week and is a wealth of information for all things forest related. Volunteers are encouraged to enjoy the serenity of our place, go for walks, enjoy the wildlife, read books, swim in the pool, use the tennis court, propose projects and carry-out projects, and most importantly explore the surrounding area of Northern NSW.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We seek nature loving, easy going people who are happy to get on with the tasks provided. We both work in Lismore and the fruit yields have gotten to the stage where it is too much for the two of us, and we require assistance.

    3 to 4 hours of your time would required 5 days a week. Work would be predominantly with the finger limes and Davidson plums which are commercially harvested. The majority of the Davidson plums are picked from about mid December to mid January. The majority of the finger limes are picked from about late January till late April. The finger limes also require mulching and pruning from time to time.

    We will organise tasks that would include – picking, sorting, pruning, mulching, planting out some rainforest plants, tending the vegetable patches, and other similar projects from time to time.

    When picking, some sun protection will be provided, although we mostly try to avoid the particularly hot time of day and a lot of the picking is under canopy. In addition, prickle protection will be provided as some of the plants are quite prickly.

    We have native and European bee hives, although we are still learning we are happy to share the knowledge we have, and learn from you if you have knowledge in beekeeping.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    ACCOMMODATION: Volunteers stay in the "back paddock" (approx 100m from the main house). This area has the finger lime orchard and is surrounded by forest, and is very private. Volunteers are welcome to camp in their own shelters be it a camper van or tent. Otherwise, beds will be available in tent/s adjacent to a permanent shed structure, which has ample "off the grid" electricity. There is a kitchen with a fridge and gas burners for cooking. Shower and bath are outdoors in the forest with plenty of hot and cold water. The toilet is composting. Laundry facilities at the main house. Campfire (except fire ban season) The facilities are rustic and comfortable.

    FOOD: Food would be provided. We are flexible on the food provided and would be happy to cater according to dietary preferences. There are facilities for volunteers to prepare their own meals and to keep the food prep area clean. We look forward also to sharing meals at times.

    LENGTH OF STAY: A 2 week or more commitment is preferred. Ideally for 2 to 3 people at a time.

    TRANSPORT: There is no close public transport. Ideally, own car would be useful - for exploring the local area. However, if required we can do pick ups and drop offs to nearby towns - by arrangement.

    INTERNET: WiFi available at the main house (about 100 meters from the camping site)

    ENTERTAINMENT: Pool/ tennis court near the main house.

    CLOTHING: The wearing of closed shoes would be highly recommended in the forest and at night due to very uncommon sightings venomous snakes.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    15 minute drive west to Lismore
    25 minute drive east to Ballina
    40 minute drive north east to Byron Bay
    A little over 2 hours drive north to Brisbane.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 295254964719