Come and help on my 3.5 acres in Hervey Bay, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 8 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.07.2021

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are on 3.5 acres, which doesn't sound like a lot but we are doing plenty on it. We keep chickens and ducks for eggs and meat. I regularly raise chicks and ducklings to keep the supply up, and there is an almost monthly 'dispatching' day. However at the moment I am reducing my flock numbers due to fox and goanna attacks. The vegetable gardens and fruit trees are many and sprawling. With a variety of organically grown produce to feed my partner and myself. The aim for our property is to become as self-sufficient as possible, to reduce the amount of waste that comes onto our land, and reduce the amount of money we spend on store bought products. We recycle, reuse just about everything, food scraps go to the animals, and what ever we don't eat gets composted (including bones!). We have a very good relationship with our neighbours in that we swap and share a lot of produce, garden products and labour.

    We have owned our land for nearly 5 years and are wanting to sell up and buy much larger acreage to pursue our dreams of starting a goat dairy and cheese making business.

    This means that we have recently sold my beloved goat girls so that I can focus on preparing the property for sale. This includes jobs like never ending weeding, garden maintenance, mulching, digging, mucking out the chook and duck enclosures and plenty of other relatively 'hard, laborious' type garden jobs. There are also lots of fun jobs to do around a property like this including picking and harvesting, sowing seeds and propagation, making jams, perserves and using the produce that comes out of the garden. Drying herbs, smoking meats, tending to the animals, playing with the dogs....

    We have two dogs that live with us. Mac and Lily. See photos. They are large dogs. They are very friendly to people that they know, and quite defensive of our property to strangers arriving. Once introduced to you, they will include you into their 'pack'.

    Our doggies are a big part of our lives here. They sleep inside at night, but are out in the house yard during the day chasing birds and lizards.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I try to follow permaculture techniques as much as possible and organic, self sufficient farming practices.
    I work alone in the gardens most of the time, my partner Brett works full time, and I have just finally quit my terrible brain sucking job to be able to do this full time. And so, I would welcome a hand with some of the physically demanding jobs that pop up. I am high energy and on the go doing something all the time.

    I have no formal training for any of the practices I do here, it has been a self taught journey of the last 5 years. What works, what doesn't, what needs changing, how can I improve this or that. I welcome any thoughtful input and feedback as well as ideas.

    The ferry to Fraser Island is just a 5 minute drive down the road. We are about a 7 min drive to the beach (the esplanade is a beautiful place to stroll along) and shops. And 15 mins to the centre of Hervey Bay. A vehicle would be ideal, but we are happy to help out with pick ups and drop offs (within reason).

  • Aide

    Aide

    Most of the help I require will be outdoors in the gardens and with the animals. There is always work to do, some of it not very glamorous, but still very necessary when keeping animals. The chicken and duck coops need regular cleaning. There is always some rock picking and hole digging to do.
    Some of the work can be quite physically demanding. So please be aware that this Workaway is not for the faint hearted, so come prepared for a bit of exercise.
    In preparing this property for sale, we are creating new gardens where I don't want to whipper snip anymore, composting, propagating, mowing, whipper snipping, trimming hedges etc.

    I ask for 4-5 hours of work (job and day dependent) 5 days a week. I can be very flexible with the hours, in that you could split your hours up over the day, just do the mornings, or the afternoon if you prefer. We can do more hours in one day to give you more time off on another day. Generally we will aim to complete a couple of jobs and work until they are done. If it takes longer than 5 hours, we can take time off another day. Being flexible like this is a great benefit to both of us. You get more time off on some days to explore the area, or to relax, and I get my jobs done.

    All newcomers to our property will have a maximum length of stay of one week. After that week, there might be a possibility of extending the stay, but only if both of our expectations are met.

    All tools and equipment needed to do any of the jobs here will be provided. You just need to supply your own sun protection clothing (wide brim hat, long sleeve shirt etc). Depending on the job to be done, I wear closed in shoes and long pants too as added protection from sun, tools and creatures! Yes there are toads, spiders and snakes everywhere. Not to mention having to get dirty around chickens, compost and duck poop!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a huge room available within our house complete with a very basic kitchenette (toaster and kettle, sink, fridge), queen bed, smart Tv, lounge and dining table. Separate bathroom and toilet.

    We provide food for all main meals. Continental style foods will be supplied in your room for breakfast (homemade bread, jams, cereals). You can eat in the privacy of your room or come and join us for morning brekky and a run down of the days plans.
    There is always something in the fridge and pantry for lunches. I try to make sure there is a variety of fruits available to snack on throughout the day.
    So breakfast and lunch you can prepare yourselves, and dinner we can come together and create something. We welcome you do some cooking or to help out in the kitchen. And our rule of thumb is that the cook never does the dishes.

    We generally eat healthy balanced meals, comprised of food we have grown in the garden (when it provides enough). We also eat our ducks and chooks. We make our own preserves, mayo, sauces etc, and make our own bread each day.
    If you have any dietary requirements, I'm sure we can work something out with your direction.
    We don't generally buy packet food, Jar sauces or snack/junk food, if that is something you want, you can purchase it at your own expense.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are a non smoking house. If you are a smoker, we ask you do it away from the house and dispose of your butts responsibly.
    We take pride in owning a new clean home, and ask that you respect our property as we do and keep your areas clean.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Plenty of room for your camper on our property, but no toilet dumping facilities available.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 294839611579