Aidez-nous à créer un paradis écologique près d'un barrage près d'Abrantes, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 35 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 10 jours

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple who have settled in the Santarem district, 400m metres from the Castelo Bode reservoir. We have a dog, a cat, a hectare of land to manage and create new and exciting projects and numerous ongoing building renovations of traditional schist houses . We are full-time digital nomads for the time being so would welcome anyone to potter around doing bits and bobs.

    Although we are new to Workaway hosting, James has been a workawayer in the past across Europe, assisting others setting up their own slices of paradise. He has also worked as a chalet chef for 3 wonderful ski seasons in the French and Swiss alps as well as surf lodges in the basque.

    We are both passionate about hosting and take great pride in ensuring others are cared for. We are of course also animal lovers and want to eventually have more with the help or time necessary.

    Our reason for moving to Portugal at such an early time in our lives is due to our apathy with modern life and want to be the masters of our own destiny, to include food independence and share genuine experiences with others.

    We are passionate about nature and our farm is soaked in natural beauty, from our own private waterfall to our ancient olive trees, anyone choosing to come and help will be greeted with peace and calm.

    With regards to the help here, we don't expect a lot, only that you relax and enjoy the freedom we have created here and if you want to get involved with any of the projects we are currently working on, or have your own ideas, anything goes.

    We are social people, James plays all sorts of musical instruments and would love to jam with visitors, Tegan is insatiably curious and wants to meet different people and share stories, creativity and life with new people. James is a keen skateboarder, or any boarder for that matter and he regularly visits skateparks or beaches and would enjoy the company and relish assisting those with confidence in these activities.

    Nearby we have a few local villages for shopping, cafe culture, pharmacy, all within a ten minute drive.

    We have a small boat to explore the Castelo do Bode Reservoir or for fishing excursions.

    We can pick up Workaways from the local train station (Abrantes) on request, though should you have your own transport, we are located 15 minutes drive off of the famous N2 road.

    PS we have the best internet in the area, its 4g and through a fixed wifi box.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We will share everything we have with those who spend time with us, skatebaord slackline surfing skills, Tegan can teach you excel formulas or how to set up a website. We make a lot of pizza in one of our many pizza ovens and we will gladly teach you.
    James grew up on a farm and can pass on arbor/horticultural/animal husbandry knowledge

  • Aide

    Aide

    Buildings for animals, chicken house, sheep barn
    compost toilet build
    arboriculture tasks such as Vine care, olive tree pruning, orchard planting, olive harvesting,
    Schist (traditional Portuguese stone building) renovation
    dry stone walling
    food gardening and harvesting
    unskilled gardening, clearing with a brush cutter, pulling weeds
    story telling, rambling, joke telling
    cat & dog petting and walking
    foraging the local area for seasonal goodies (the mushrooms here are out of this world!!)
    cooking and recipe sharing
    Housework
    Mini ramp project
    If none of the above is relevant or interesting and you have other ideas, we are receptive to everything

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We would be delighted to exchange home cooked meals and accommodation for lessons in Portuguese, French, or any other language on request.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A 6 metre Bell Tent to sleep up to 6 people
    A house for 6 people (available September 2022)

    Tent pitches with incredible views of the Reservoir or next to our private waterfall - to those who have their own equipment & Tent
    Campervan parking - please get in touch to discuss

    We can cater to all sorts of diets upon request. We can provide ingredients, utensils, means to cook for yourself if you prefer or you can be cooked for after a hard day learning a new skill or after taking your 10th swim in the waterfall! . We have a gas fired pizza oven, wood fired bread oven, bbq and all required utensils to ensure you have all the sustenance you need.

    We have lots of places near by to acquire fresh local produce, either via car, bike or a shared lift with us.

    For the time being we only have a shared flushing toilet and hot shower on the farm. James will be installing a compost loo for our bell tent in the coming weeks!!!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have a boat for fishing, exploring, etc. on the lake. We have hammocks and a few slacklines set up. There are loads of nature trails and lakeshores nearby to explore.

    The nearest village is Sao Domingos where you have a lovely cafe with great food, or a little further is Fontes which has a few shops and bars and sits directly on the reservoir. Abrantes is the nearest large city (25 minutes drive) with a huge hospital and daily market, restaurants and links to the rest of Portugal.

    Tomar, the Knights templar city, is a 40 minute drive for those with access to transport.

    We can assist in getting you to our Farm by picking you up from local train stations, which have extremely quick and regular links to the big cities and airports.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We can happily accept DN's. Our internet connection is quick enough for the both of us having conference calls for work but should you have specific requirements, please get in touch.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space for camper vans and can provide electricity hookup, though its best to contact us with specific requirements. We currently have space for 2 large or 3 smaller camper vans

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We can accept well behaved (stock broken) pets on request and we live in a traffic free environment with plenty of space to roam. Portugal is infested with ticks and various other parasites so we recommend they have up to date treatments for such

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day/flexible



N° de référence hôte : 285333138791