Learn a variety of rural skills whilst helping us with our Permaculture and woodland here in east Cornwall, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 284 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    92.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family run Permaculture and woodland project on a 27 acre holding- consisting of a small flock of sheep, a few ducks and lots and lots of trees including a small orchard.
    We have built our own cruck framed straw bale house and a natural swimming pond. We also run a natural burial site.

    Approx. 13 acres is existing woodland and most of the remainder is new planting of coppice, much with public access.

    Emphasis is placed on living simply, with a direct connection to most elements of daily life. We are off-grid, with dry composting toilet, rainwater harvesting, solar/wind power systems, limited wi-fi internet available. No TV.

    Some of our other interests are green woodworking, bread making, home brewing, bushcraft, charcoal burning, music and basketry.

    This is a creative family based community- come and join us and 'muck in' with the day to day stuff!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Due to the emphasis on direct and simple living volunteers will be able to immerse themselves in our way of life and learn skills from scything and hay-making to preserving food and cooking.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Practical help required in the woods (coppicing- using hand tools to process timber products), garden (i.e polytunnel/food production- weeding, planting, harvesting, preserving, brewing, drying), with the animals (feeding etc. our ducks, sheep and pigs), and to help in completion of various building projects (garden structures, bread oven, climbing wall, extra volunteer accommodation).
    Also help appreciated with other day-to-day tasks such as chopping firewood (a good way to warm up!), cooking (always appreciated!), washing up etc.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Either caravan or cabin, both are clean and comfortable with wood-burners and solar powered lights. Food is with the family for main meals during the week, breakfasts and weekend food provided for volunteers to prepare in their own spaces.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Cornwall is a beautiful part of the country and there are many places to explore on the moor including ancient stone circles (the hurlers just half an hour walk over the hill) and quoits. The coast is about 15miles away.
    Transport is fairly good with buses to Liskeard (4miles away), and from there main line trains and coaches.
    Or of course you can chill here and make use of our natural swimming pond...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week





N° de référence hôte : 272714814668