Join our family while we develop 1 acre in the city into a permaculture oasis in Salem, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 98 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    09.11.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    78

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Keith and Joanna (and our boys and dog) and we live in Salem the state capital of Oregon. We are self-employed, stay at home parents. Our property is a small, 1,000 sq ft, cement block home on 1 acre of land with a 1,000 sq ft pole barn which we want to finish out into EPIC workspace. It'll be loads of fun!

    Keith is a naturalized US citizen originally from Northern Ireland. We want to emulate that greenness and rock walled environment here in the US.

    You will get your own living space in our tiny house/RV. Lunch on working days will be provided. We expect 20 hours of work a week in exchange for room and board. We eat meat and buy direct from the farmers. Dinner can be negotiated... If we are all working together until 5, you can expect to be fed! Breakfast you're on your own, but have eggs and seasonal veg for you. We have good WiFi and are on a well with excellent water.

    We want to build a large courtyard, arbors, outdoor living areas. We have a vision and money for materials. We appreciate the help with the little things like making sure chickens have food and water and the compost pile is turned. Weeding and mulching is always on the project list. Always. Funner stuff like mowing the lawn and pressure washing the driveway, too... There will be fun projects, but it depends on the timing. The average workawayer can expect to be tasked with daily care of ducks and chickens, weeding, and compost pile turning. Not exactly glamorous, but easy and flexible jobs for the most part. If you have wizard level skills or experience on a project then we can negotiate something else.

    Food will be good. We love food. We think this cerveza sickness stuff is worth being highly skeptical about. We read books like Atlas Shrugged, Carl Jung, Civil War nonfiction, and the Little Britches series. We don't have a TV. We rarely drink only because I make 9 gallons of kombucha a week. We have 3 boys we "unschool."

    We work hard and work hard to have fun while working hard.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are in our early 30s and have 2 kids. Keith is from Northern Ireland. Joanna is from here. We have done some travelling and aspire to live on a sailboat and travel around the world once the kids know how to swim and we have a solid, passive income.

    We have a network of interesting people and like to casually entertain (we have 3 kids, we bring the party to us). Workawayers will get their own private accommodation.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Do you like rocks, bricks, mortar, and cement? Fantastic! Masonry skills are the most appreciated! We want to work with you and learn how to build with stone. We dream of finding some super skilled person who can help us build courtyards and walls and driveways. We also want to build another wood fire pizza oven.

    Can you draw architectural plans? We have a vision, we just need it documented formally.

    Can you build stuff? We have lots that need to be built. Lots and lots.

    Can you drive a digger? GREAT! We have lots of earth we want to rearrange. Drainage to dig (the efficient way). Our digger arrives June 2021.

    Have you ever built a natural swimming pool? We want to pick your brain on the intricacies of that set up. We have a wonderful location for it.

    Gardening is also going to be a big part of what we do. We live outside. We grow our 4 cannabis plants every year. All the smoke you can dream of (responsibly consumed... we ain't gonna let you toke and drive the digger.)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Custom finished RV/tiny home.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    This would be a great gig for a couple or a small family. We have 3 boys and are both stay at home parents.

    We are 20ish minutes from Silver Falls State Park. Great mountain biking, hiking, general outdoor adventure is close by. Portland is an easy 1 hour drive away. Bend is a couple hours away. Mt. Hood is not far. The beach is about an hour away. Everything is super close and convenient! Corvallis and Eugene (they have the big universities) are 45ish min away.

    Our home is located 5 blocks from a nice grocery store, Walmart is half a mile away, everything else you could want/need is within 3 miles.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We do expect work to be done. But as long as your schedule is flexible to work with us, we can work with you.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have an RV hookup... With our RV hooked up. I guess we could move it if you bring yours. Stays will need to be short if you bring your own.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week... 20ish hours seems fair unless you are highly skilled and are able to contribute to high value projects.


N° de référence hôte : 267451991888