mis à jour  

Help with clearing and possibly horse care in a very beautiful area off the beaten path, Washington, Vermont USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 160 fois
  • Activité récente: 18 juin 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    Katharina is a transplant from Germany and came to Vermont via California. Glenn has been in Vermont since the 1970s. Presently, our animals are: dogs Bela & Bernie, cats Tesla & Cosmo and Greta & Hedy, a team of Haflinger horses.

    Overlooking the White Mountains in the distance, our place is nestled into the Green Mountains of Vermont, high on a hillside, variously known as Blood Mountain or Michigan Hill. We are three miles outside of the little town of Washington and about 18 miles south of state capitol, Montpelier.

    Workawayers will probably stay in a little cabin, aka the "Hobbit House,” where we lived for two winters while building our house. It has a terrace with a view, outdoor shower and a sauna. Our house is a barn structure from the 1800s that Glenn and his friends moved and rebuilt. Our land spans about 40 acres, bordering over 2,000 acres of wildlife preserve. We also have a pond that is great for swimming on those hot summer days.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our area is off the beaten path, rural and very beautiful. We love to get to know folks from different cultures. We do have a pond to swim in, plenty of trails to hike, and you are welcome to borrow our kayaks.

  • Aide


    We continue to focus on keeping newly cleared areas open for future pasture areas. Weed whacking to keep woody plants down and allow grass to thrive will be a regular thing. Katharina has some veggies and berry plots, as well as perennial flowers and various fruit and nut trees. Glenn may appreciate help with construction projects or caring for the team of horses. Our ideal workawayer likes to cook and help with house cleaning :)

    If you have experience in any of the above, we’d love to have you. You don’t need to be an expert – we can learn and figure things out together. Most important is that you are a DIY type person who is able to do, and not afraid of, physical work. Our winters are pretty long, so we are looking for Workawayers during the months of May through October (weather depending).

    Note: We live on a farm and need to care for animals. Workawayers should be ok with rising early to get chores done and also not shy away from physical work. We are looking for self starters who are able to follow directions and complete a task when left alone.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Polonais: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    You would be staying in a cabin about 150 ft away from the main house. The cabin has running water, outdoor shower, fridge, two-burner stove, wood heat. No WiFi at the cabin. Arrangements can be made to use WiFi on the porch of the main house.

    Katharina is Vegetarian, but Glenn eats meat sometimes. Depending on individual needs, some meals can be shared, or, if preferred, you can cook your own meals. Alternatively, you can work less (2 hours a day or 2 x 7 hour days) and purchase your own food.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 20-minute a drive away from Sage Mountain, a well-known herbal retreat center established by Rosemary. Montpelier, about 35 minutes away, offers an eclectic farmer’s market every weekend during the summer months. Montreal is three hours away as is Boston. There are all kinds of festivals throughout summer, something for every taste, and lots of hiking trails and swimming holes. As mentioned before, the area is rural. There is NO public transportation.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Well behaved, non-aggressive dog or cat. Subject to discussion first.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 554854461764

Feedback (3)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)

Join an artist living in a beautiful part of the world in Arroyo Seco, New Mexico, USA
Fun in the sun or snow, lend me a hand around my house and garden and enjoy the arts in Cleveland, Ohio