Colourful bunch of people in a co-housing community near Vienna, Austria

Country

Autriche

Enregistré comme favori 42 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    27.06.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a group of 44 colourful adults and 29 children from all ages (0-71) and different backgrounds building a co-housing community in St. Andrä-Wördern. The little town is at the Danube close to Vienna (1/2 h away by train) and is THE town, where many people who live alternatively (artists, dancers, coaches, ecologists etc.) settled.

    We are a multi-generational community who are building a co-housing community in this town on a field. We are in the final months of the building of several houses, both with professionals and self-build activities. At the moment we are doing the ecological insulation, clay work and painting. We've learnt to work with clay, which is a beautiful material to work with.

    We don't live in the houses yet, as they are still under construction. You would stay with one of our lovely elders Karin, who's a very gentle soul and lives in the same town. She will welcome you once you arrive. We meet regularly as a community both for communal and organisational purposes, and we have at least 3 days a week (since June until January) that smaller groups of us meet to work on the self-build activities such as clay work.

    We've been envisioning, dreaming and planning this project for 5 years, a multi-generational co-housing community that builds on ecological, social and affordable grounds for a colourful group of people. There is a lot to learn and we have a lot of experience to share with you.

    I'm Malou, member of this community, and will be in contact with you.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a colourful bunch of people from all ages and different backgrounds and professions, who are happy to share our skills, knowledge and joy with you. In our group we have a wide range of skills from dancers, musicians, carpenters, technicians, teachers, ecologists, communication coaches, therapists, nature lovers, fire experts, wild childs and playful souls.

    You will get to know all of us individually and as a group, learning how a spark of a supposedly utopian idea of a multi-generational community can become solid and tangible reality through motivation, endurance, excellent organisation (through sociocracy) and strong community-building. If you are interested you will learn the many steps of starting a co-housing project from scratch, including the organisational structure of sociocracy, building community through heart spaces and healthy conflict culture and using an alternative financing model that allows people with and without financial resources to build in total 10 houses.

    You will also learn a lot about the tangible work of building a community home, including how a construction works, how to insulate with ecological material like jute, how to plaster walls with clay, how to have fun together while building, and how to enjoy a tasty home-made meal with us in the lunch break and sit at the fire after a good day of hands-on work.

    Moreover you will become part of the greater community in town, where singing circles, bonfires, contact impro, music and dance jams, concerts, story-telling evenings and much more take place.

    Of course you can also practice your German with us, or English or Spanish (many of us have been travelling through Latin America and other beautiful countries in the world).

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for a helper with a minimum stay of 2 months, ideally staying for 3-4 months.

    As we are in the finals of the building process, we need help for the following activities, in which all of us adults and helpers participate and meet in smaller groups of 6-10 people several times a week :


    * plastering the clay in the houses (we learnt this from clay professionals and will teach you)
    * painting the walls
    * taking care of the materials, keeping them in order
    * integrating the jute insulation in the remaining houses
    * having an overview over our self-build activities (which day which activities)
    * being in exchange with our team leaders of the different activities (clay, insulation etc.)
    * helping approximately 25h / week

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodation for you is at the home of one of our dear members, Karin, central in the town of St.Andrä-Wördern. She is a very sweet and gentle soul, a puppet theatre expert and heartfelt cook. You will share a kitchen, bathroom and living room with her. You will have your mattress and room, that only a few times a month Karin will need for her dreamtime / puppet theatre afternoons. She will arrange with you to fit both of your needs.

    You can take breakfast at Karin's home. The homemade lunch meal you will share with us in our little working groups at the building site. One of us is always cooking and treating the hands-on working fellows. The dinners you will share mostly at Karin's home. Mostly we cook vegetarian.

    It's a non-smoker home.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a lot to discover in the area around the town. There is a lot of different nature landscapes to explore, like the Donau Auen (danube meadows), the gorgeous Viennese woods and sweet little hiking trails. In half an our train ride along the danube you are in the beautiful city of Vienna with lots of cultural heritage to explore and wander. We can give you some advice on special spots depending on your wants.

    We are really looking forward to meeting you !

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Approximately 5 hours/day, 5 days/ week, flexible


N° de référence hôte : 257292663443