Help us in our organic farm in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 262 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    06.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 100% organic farm (Located close to Casa Nova da Cruz - São Teotónio) with a focus on being as ecological as we can be and without the use of harmful chemicals and pesticides. We buy as little as possible from the supermarket and mainly live from what we grown in our garden. On our 14-hectare land we conserve a large portion of the land to plant a mixture of cork, pine and trees. Our property is powered fully by solar power and as we are located within a valley please be aware that there is limited phone signal and internet access.
    Our day-to-day activities include maintaining and replanting in our garden, fermenting and preserving the different fruits and vegetables that we grow, planting new trees on our land as well as pruning our current tree’s, creating fire wood and cleaning the land of unwanted wild pants.
    We also house various animals on our farm (Pigs, Chicken, Ducks, Geese, Dogs, Cats, Bees) and ensuring that they are well fed and looked after is an important role that we all participate in. We are not a commercial farm, the animals that we keep are for our own consumption, we respect that when we do put-down an animal that this might not be in everyone’s taste and it is important to us that we communicate with our volunteers when this is happening so they can choose if they want to participate or not. For those interested there is the opportunity to learn about butchery and sustainable animal agriculture.

    During the year we have various construction projects that we will need assistance with that includes building new structures on the property and assembling and maintaining new fences for our animals.

    On the property we have a fully licenced Distillery – a traditional Portuguese spirit distilled from a type of berry, a type of strawberry. During the picking season (November – December) this is where the most help is needed to ensure that we not only picking enough berries for our small batch production but to ensure that we are picking berries of the highest quality. This is a great opportunity to learn about foraging and later the fermentation and distillation process (January- February). In the Autumn we also produce a small quantity of wine produced from Portuguese grapes.

    Please find below the calendar of work split into the different tasks and months of the year so you can choose the best time to stay with us based on the experience and skills you wish to gain:

    Distillation (End of January – Beginning of March)
    Wine Making (September – October)
    Berry Picking (October – December)
    Pruning (January, February and March)
    Planting new trees (October – March)
    Gardening, wood making, cleaning the land from wild plants, caring for our animals, maintaining and building on the property (Whole year)

    Animals: On our land we have dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, geese, pigs, sheep and several bee hives.

    Products Made: Duck, goose and chicken eggs, organic fruits and vegetable, honey, wine

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We will spend the meals, the working time together and so we can exchange a lot. You can learn a lot about animals, garden, distillation, and the day by day work on the farm. We also go to local market 1 in month and more events, where you can always go with us and learn about this area.
    The beach is 15 km away so in the free days and in the afternoon you can go there. When some of us goes with the car in this direction we always can take you if you want.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help at the house. We have 2 baby's, so we are happy to have one person that helps at taks in the house or looking at the baby's.
    It is just possible for us to have volunteers if one person helps at the house!

    You will be helping in all tasks that we are doing on the farm. This farm is just producing for us, so we have food. We are not selling the products of the farm.
    Depending on the year season you can help us on : Garden ((seeding, planting, irrigating, picking vegetables…), constructions (little things on the house, fence, shelters for the animals) cleaning land, cutting wood, feeding the animals, picking fruits, picking grapes and making juice and wine, etc.

    for us it is important that you are doing the tasks with us, so you are not alone doing a task and also because this way it is more fun and we can talk and make many things happen much faster :)

    At the moment we do not accept familys with kid's. Sorry.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    2 room with 2 beds. If you want you also can stay in a tent.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    On your free time you can walk and see this great area. Also possible to go to the beach (just 15km) (some times we can give you a lift in that direction).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

















N° de référence hôte : 256231179591