mis à jour  

Help with projects with plenty of time and space for yourself at an Off-Grid Cave House in Southern Spain

  • Espagne
  • Enregistré comme favori 166 fois
  • Activité récente: 26 mars 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois



  • Description


    The house is a recently reformed, unusual off-grid cave house on a hill with enough land to be self sufficient. Along with the principal residence, there is a self-contained guest annex. Dominic is vegetarian and Corinne is vegan. We have a dog, a cat and a sparrow who live in the house and expect our animal family to grow. I have had great experiences with Workaway, meeting interesting people and sharing experiences and time together. We are both interested in art, culture, history, psychology, philosophy, cooking, decor, hiking, animals and living a sustainable and holistic life.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The property is at 800m near a village of about 700 inhabitants on the Altiplano of Granada. We are in the UNESCO Global Geopark of Granada within the Badlands typical of the region. It is a very interesting area that has been settled since early times with traces of ancient peoples around with archeological digs and a Roman necropolis nearby. As part of the Emirate of Granada, this area was one of the last to fall in the conquest of Al-Andalus in 1491 and traces of this past are still visible with signal towers dotting the landscape, fortified buildings and a network of irrigation canals. We are right on a fertile river valley and there with many good walks nearby and the area is beautiful and unspoilt. The river has places good for bathing and there is also a huge outdoor swimming pool nearby. Very good dark skies for stargazing with no light pollution. The cities of Andalucia offer a great deal of cultural inspiration and are of great historical interest. I am thinking that one of the primary benefits to you is to have the opportunity to do your own thing, be it writing, painting, music or another creative outlet. We prefer to have guests who can tolerate their own company and are able to get on with their own things.

  • Aide


    There is lots to do in the gardens like: preparing beds for planting, starting seeds, making terraces in the hill, setting irrigation lines, keeping plants healthy and happy, lots of watering when it gets hot, harvesting and conserving. As well as veggies we have ornamentals, fruit trees, olives and some citrus too. We also have a nice big greenhouse with a heated raised bed for tropicals. There is some hardscape construction and maintenance type projects like moving some soil, making large concrete planters, lining a storage area etc.
    There are lots of fun projects depending on time, interest and ability, including artistic ones such as helping to make hanging lamps, mosaics, a water feature and some painting. Then with food preservation such as fermenting and drying, making tempeh, growing mushrooms and helping to develop our apothecary garden for medicinal plants.
    We also appreciate help with general maintenance and cleaning and Hercules, our dog, enjoys nice long walks, so that is a fun way to explore the area.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Hollandais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    It would be great to have a native Spanish speaker stay and give us some intensive coaching.

  • Hébergement


    You will have a really nice one bedroom cave apartment all to yourself- it is luxurious even. There is a separate kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. All has underfloor heating, so very comfortable in the winter and as it is a cave, also very comfortable in the summer. Your bedroom has a skylight tower that lets light in and at the front you have your own private garden area. Solar powered with high speed internet. The living room has decent light if you require natural light for your own projects. The interior photos on this profile are all of the cave apartment that you would stay in. You have your own kitchen, so you will be independent food-wise.
    I am also open to having guests who prefer to buy their own food and so have more time to themselves, in that case your contribution could be something like 7-10 hours per week, depending on what kind of help you can offer. This is an ideal place for someone who is looking for a quiet place to take time out from the demands of normal life and be able to focus on something in particular for themselves.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are vegan and vegetarian and prefer vegetarian Workawayers. The situation best suits couples as we are quite remote and you will be left to your own resources most of the time. We would consider singles, but as well as being a match for our needs - Spanish language, maintenance/construction and garden experience, you would have to be happy to have time for your own projects and want to spend time on your own. I am putting together an interesting collection of medicinal plants and fungi, so it would be an advantage if such things are of interest to you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Property has CAT6. Annex cave apartment has 20 MBS with own router so you can set up your own security. Off grid with solar power. Space can be easily configured for work with natural light. Outside garden area with south facing walled patio that creates a nice warm outdoor space in the winter and shaded area for the summer. Completely quiet.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We would consider it, it depends on the situation. Generally, as it can be disruptive to our pets, we prefer not.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

N° de référence hôte : 255723821233

Feedback (7)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Stay near Gandia on the east coast of Spain and help me out with gardening and building
Profitez de Madrid et partagez votre langue avec nous, Espagne