Help out on a traditional Andaluz farm near Velez-Malaga, Spain

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 143 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    09.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The farm is a 7 acre traditional Andaluz hilltop tree farm. The main crops are almonds, as well as figs, olives, carob, loquat, pomegranate and a large vegetable garden. Plus assorted chickens and 3 dogs, Scooby ( big gentle Mastin ) Harvey, and Nina, and 2 outdoor cats, Pushka and Little My. The farm is located in the foothills under La Maroma mountain, which is part of the Sierra Tejeda mountain range. While very peaceful and isolated, it is only a 30 minute drive down to the nearest town, Velez-Malaga and the sea. The houses on the farm comprise the main farm house, and a cottage in the converted outbuildings, which we rent out as a holiday home. Our volunteers live in the caravan, and some choose to camp under the carob trees. The land abounds with wildlife and birdlife, and is a beautiful and tranquil setting.

    We are a bilingual hispano/english family of four ( 2 kids, aged 19 and 16, Jasmine is now living and studying in UK, Sam is still home ) who moved here 19 years ago from London try out the good life and change to a rural lifestyle. Ramon is a builder and carpenter and works in the UK as a rigger in the summers, Rachael runs the organic farm and cookery workshops and the rental house. Our typical working day starts at 9 a.m and we work through until about 3 pm when we prepare and eat our midday meal, which is the main meal of the day.

    Over the years, Rachael has been and still is involved in starting local farmers' markets and organic cooperatives locally, and cooking the produce of the farm into food, jams and preserves for sale, both in markets and for local rental properties. Work on the farm is a mix of tending the garden and the land, helping out with cooking and dealing with the harvest and helping out with whatever our latest project is. (Repairing the carport which has blown down in the autumn gale force winds is the latest!)

    We can cater for most diets, although we ourselves are omnivores. We eat little meat though as it is difficult to find organic meat locally so the cooking is mainly vegetarian. We both love to cook and take time to enjoy meals. We have no prohibitions, if you wish to drink alcohol in moderation or smoke that is entirely up to you .

    Drop us an e-mail if you want to find out more or see some more photos.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Aide

    Aide

    We welcome families or individuals who would enjoy helping with the vegetable garden and general land care, as well as help in the house and with cooking. We also have a number of practical projects we are carrying out such as creating a cactus garden at the entrance to the property and refelting our extension, so we welcome people with practical skills.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    French: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A caravan with a covered outdoor area in the almond grove.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The farm is in a great location for walking and enjoying country activities, and most volunteers have spent their days off exploring the area, from the mountains, to the nearby lake and sea. There is no public transport to the farm, but we go to town twice a day on school days, and can give people a lift if they want to get to the town or the bus station to travel and see other cities. We are flexible about your time off. We also welcome volunteers who want to stay for longer time periods.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




N° de référence hôte : 247577253818