Take care of huskies in Alberta, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 606 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    Have 26 sled dogs, ( alaskian husky bred ) into long distance racing with real huskies . Competed in 300 mile race ( Canadian challenge, am planning to keep racing, offering rides to aboriginal communities for cultural experience and encouragement to others to follow your heart and do not live for nothing.
    Seasonal tasks: change as the weather changes here . I am really interested in teaching the process of the sled dog culture and what it takes to get on a sled and enjoy the ride and most important the dogs. The better the dogs are cared for the funner the ride is and handling them is easier, which is a mindset most mushers have ingrained inside , otherwise u will not be able to handle racing or wilderness with these amazing dogs on your own it takes effort.

    U can expect basic tasks that reflect caring for the basic dogs needs : grooming, cleanup, watering, feeding . I work week days from 8am - 4:30 pm with a 40 min drive to and from work . (8hr) day i work , so u would be here on your own watching and performing tasks until i get home in the evening. U would expect to do 2hrs of work anytime throughout each day.
    If u feel more comfortable and able to handle the dogs more will be given only depending on your level of experience.

    If u have your own vehicle accommodation u are welcome to explore the area, there are mountains and hiking areas however they are up to 2-3 hrs depending on where u go to do extreme hiking. I have minor areas of exploring wilderness where i train my dogs , depends on the time when i go into my wilderness more so in winter.

    Occasionally i can accommodate and work in a time on weekends or 1 day during the week to go to the leisure centre for exercise.

    I am intrested in the workawayer who is interesting learning this culture and caring for the dogs needs. I am willing to train u, and show u the ropes . I only expect ( 2 hrs ) of work unless u want to do more its than i am more inclined to allow and trust u more with handling the dogs, as u feel comfortable, and confident in guiding them to listen.

    If u plan to come here it would be respectful to stay at least two weeks as this helps arrange next guests and scheduling it better planned.

    This year up to date thanks to previous work swayers have started and experimenting my first green - house - garden project. AS I really am fascinated in eating healthier and more organic . I would like to learn more about canning, building a storage area so i can expand garden next yr and become more independent from buying vegetables .

    Some guidelines to follow while here :
    No cannablias smokers as i feel this is not a good atmosphere for the dogs, i do not want to the dogs to encounter and high or drunk person as i feel this would cause the dogs to get scared.
    I want couples who are actually married to stay in the same rooms together this is ok.
    If your not married than i would prefer u stay in separate rooms in my place for professional purposes of coming here for the care of the dogs and the friendly atmosphere of open mindedness I like it that way for the reasons of keeping it professional and for the dogs sake and my own personal beliefs .

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Looking after high endurance pulling sled husky dogs, and the outside conditions in which these animals survive. Experience of caring for animals that love nothing more than to run and bring u along as a person to the one who risks the time to care for them in return.

  • Aide


    1st week : Routine of learning to feed/clean/ groom get to know huskies. ( 2hrs)
    2nd week: U will be given task to do above as well as renovation or building or cooking depending on your experiences with tasks prior, clean up.
    Basically anything more than this u can expect tasks that will require learning from me, such as exercising huskies, running them , harness training, care taking .
    Projects around the home will expect minimal expectations, however with more than one workawayer will expect extra 2 hrs allotted for garden, green house and clean up projects as i like to keep my place looking good.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    I offer free bedroom/ own bathroom, t.v, wireless internet, food is supplied, but is shared on my own budget. Evening meals will be shared so if u are individual eater ie: vegan, or on diet u would need to provide your own meal types as the type of food i buy is bulk and meant to last two weeks . Meals have to be accounted so taking advantage of certain items i buy , consuming a item in a couple days will not be tolerated . AS the host suppling the meals is meant to last two weeks . Own bedroom, personal time off at end of day after chores are complete, very flexible with the good listener and on task helper.
    I can pick u up ( Grande Praire, ab ) bus station , or airport . Soonest pick up time on week days is 4:45 pm or anytime on weekends to help u plan your travel schedules.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Occasionally, when the work is maintained we can go to town to get supplies and go to the ( East link -- squash, swimming, and have a quick bite in town.
    I am ok with allowing time off after each day when the chores are complete and after the dogs have been looked after.

    There is time off each day, but most weekends i require help to exercise the animals and catch up on projects.

    I would encourage to rather take week days evenings off than taking weekends off because of the cultural exchange and teaching that is offered on weekends.

    I prefer no cannablias smokers as i feel this is not a good atmosphere for the dogs.
    I prefer couples who are actually married to stay in the same rooms together , if u are couple and are not married than i would prefer u stay in separate rooms in my place for professional purposes of coming here for the care of the dogs and the friendly atmosphere of open mindedness .

    I prefer it that way here if that suits u than please join.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Pets must be in a containment here loose or they can be walk on a leash .

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 246231771523