Help around our family home in a beautiful part of Co Waterford in South East Ireland

Country

Irlande

Enregistré comme favori 64 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a really beautiful part of Co Waterford in South East Ireland. We are between the Comeragh and Knockmealdown mountains to the North and the sea to the South, with a wonderful coastline and sandy beaches. We are 9km from the lovely coastal town of Dungarvan.

    Our family home was built in 1874. It’s in beautiful countryside with extensive woodlands, farmland and gardens, a total of about 190 acres (77 hectares). There is a separate stone cottage for our Workaway guests on the farm, near the old stable yard which dates back to 1800.

    I (Claire) am originally from Scotland and moved to Ireland 24 years ago having met my husband (Charlie) though sailing, We have 2 teenage kids, 2 dogs and 30 sheep! Charlie is a vet and has a full time job doing technical and advisory work, but also works hard at home as there are always things to do on the farm and in an old house like ours! I work from home - walking dogs, checking or feeding sheep and trying to keep the house, garden and grounds in order.

    There is always plenty to keep us busy here between the house, the old stable and farm yards, the garden and grounds, the woodland and our few sheep!

    Please note, the help we are looking for is only with our family and private home, and nothing relating to paying guests or livestock for sale.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have both travelled independently and enjoy meeting people from afar and sharing stories! We are happy to share our space and encourage guests to make the most of their time in this beautiful part of the country. There is so much to do and see within a short distance of home, or for many this is an ideal place to relax and enjoy the beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

    Our local town of Dungarvan is lovely and has good shops, a cinema, lots of pubs, restaurants and cafes! It's just 9km away, with regular buses to Waterford, Cork and beyond. We can offer the loan of bicycles to guests. Dungarvan is on the 'Waterford Greenway' - a stunning 46km cycle path along the old railway line to Waterford. Lismore and Ardmore are both nearby and well worth visiting,

  • Aide

    Aide

    There are a wide variety of tasks that Workaway guests can help us with.
    Some examples include:
    - helping with sheep and lambs in spring;
    - gardening and clearing in the garden and beyond;
    - clearing farm outbuildings;
    - painting and cleaning jobs in the basement of our house;
    - possibly some help in the woodlands;
    - picking apples in the walled garden / orchard in autumn.

    We are looking for 2 people - either a couple or 2 friends - and would expect 5 hours help a day, for 5 days a week. We can be flexible with days off if there is something you would like to do on a specific day or you’d like to go away for a couple of days.

    The stone cottage is very well equipped and we will provide food so that you can sometimes eat with us but otherwise you can cook and eat in your cottage. There is loads of wood for the wood-burning stove and there are also heaters for the winter months.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a lovely stone cottage to yourselves with an ‘open plan’ living / kitchen area (including electric cooker, washing machine/dryer, microwave, kettle). There is a wood burning stove (we provide logs) and the house is also heated by storage heaters. Upstairs there is one double room and one small twin room. The bathroom is also upstairs with shower, toilet and wash hand basin. This house is cosy and has great character! Outside there is a grass garden and somewhere to hang washing on a nice day!

    We are looking for 2 people - either a couple or 2 friends. We will provide you with your food. On most helping days Claire will give you lunch at the main house and she will supply food for you to make your own breakfast and evening meal in the cottage.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 237392973345