Help on a small organic coconut farm near Mysore, India

Country

Inde

Enregistré comme favori 269 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.07.2021

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five: me (Nalini); my husband Mano; our grown children Michelle and Noel, who both live in Bangalore but are often around; and our furry canine butler, Jeeves. We have a gorgeous 4 acre organic farm, full of coconut trees, as well as tamarind, mango, papaya, banana, and a rotating cast of vegetables. We're located just 30 mins from Mysore near KR Nagar.

    We are originally from Bangalore but we decided to buy land close to Mano's work (he's a veterinarian). We purchased the land more than 30 years ago, when it was nothing more than 4 acres of dirt and weeds. Over the years, we built a house and planted hundreds of trees, painstakingly transforming it into the beautiful organic farm it is today. After I retired from my job as a Tupperware executive manager a few years ago, we finally moved to the farm full time to give it the attention and love it deserves. We also just finished constructing a couple of cottages to start a homestay!

    Come help us maintain our little paradise--get your hands dirty, get creative, build some muscles you didn't know you had. There's always lots of work to do on our farm, whether it's harvesting, planting, watering weeding, helping with construction and art projects, or starting a project of your own!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The travelers will learn to farm and garden organically. They'll learn about the work that goes into growing our crops, and what we do with the crops once they're harvested--for example, making jams and juices and pickles; shelling and packing tamarinds; using coconuts to make different grades of oil, to fertilize the soil, and for cooking delicious dishes. I love to cook, so if they are interested I can teach them about Indian cooking, and they can show me dishes from their home in return. If they are interested, they can join me for morning walks and yoga. And I'm always up for a Scrabble match!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with general farm maintenance: watering, weeding, harvesting various fruits and veggies depending on the season, planting, etc. If you have an idea for a project that excites you and utilizes your specific skill set, you can do that, too. Past workawayer projects include landscaping, building cob benches, planting an herb garden, creating a pond, and decorating the homestay cottages.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Hindi: Courant
    Kannada: Courant
    Tamil: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A room in the main house with an attached toilet and delicious home cooked meals three times a day.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The volunteers can go on bike rides (bike not provided), walks, or runs by the canal next door. It is also a great place for birding--you can spot peacocks, cuckoos, kingfishers, weaver birds, and many others. The nearby backwaters have spectacular sunset views and half sunken temples. Mysore, a culturally rich town with a beautiful palace, is 30 mins away by bus.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Max 5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























N° de référence hôte : 237173878713