French conversation practice and visit some beautiful places in Languedoc Roussillon, South of France



Enregistré comme favori 21 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 43 jours

  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

  • Description



    My name is Laura and I live with my partner, Ben, and our two very friendly dogs. I'm looking to host people to stay at our house with us in the South of France, in a town close to Orange. We are both English natives and I would appreciate the opportunity to have french native speakers stay with us for a week or two, to force us to be absorbed in the French language as opposed to English. General french conversation is great; if you have teaching skills then formal lessons are also welcome.

    In exchange you will be able to stay in our house rent-free. It's a lovely house, with a surrounding garden and Mediterranean climate. You will have your own bedroom and a desk can be provided if you need to work. We will share the bathroom. We have a swimming pool, which you are welcome to use in the summer. You will be able to visit some beautiful places nearby. There are all sorts of things you can go and do in the summer such as canoeing, swimming in the river, zip lining, and if you like water sports the nearest beach is near Montpelier, one and a half hours away. The famous wine tasting resort of Chateauneuf du Pape is a 40 minute drive.

    We are happy to share tales of travels and the English culture, such as watch English films, listen to music, and we have a selection of classics which you are welcome to borrow during your stay.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our house is ideal for a break: it's large and has a swimming pool; has a garden which surrounds the house; and has a Mediterranean climate. We have olive trees and a fig tree in the garden, and lavender which smells lovely in the summer. We can provide a desk if you need to work or study.

    If you are planning on a holiday, then you will be able to visit Orange, Pont du Gard, Pont d'Arc, lots of naturally formed caves. You will be 20 minutes away from the quaint town of Orange, and 40 minutes from the city of Avignon. (I may be available to go with you but it depends on what you plan on doing. I'm sure we can see some stuff together!)

    In addition we have two very friendly dogs - a spaniel and a cockapoo - great for animal lovers.

    I have a piano, guitar, ukulele and violin which I will be happy for you to play in the house.

    Although I don't propose formally teaching English (the point of hosting for me is to live in a house where everyone is speaking French!) I will be happy to share my English culture in other ways, such as watch English films, share music and radio shows, and help you with a little English here and there.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    French conversation is the most important thing for me. In light of that my only request is to spend at least 2, perhaps 3, hours each day together, afternoon or evening, so that I can achieve my goal of becoming more fluent.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am keen to learn French and Egyptian Arabic.

  • Hébergement


    We have 3 bedroom house with garden and swimming pool. You will have your own room with a double bed. Individuals, couples or friends are welcome but we do only have one double bed. We have blow up beds which any extra people can use if you are happy to; they will go either in the study, on the mezzanine or in the guest room depending on what's more comfortable for you.

    You can share the food that we have by all means, but we are pretty laid back and prefer to go with the flow when it comes to cooking meals. When we do cook we cook for everyone, but we don't necessarily cook everyday, and on those days either you can cook for all of us or just yourself, as you like!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You can visit one of the many sites, or do one of the many things in the area, as listed above.

    You can play music in the house if you wish with one of the available instruments!

    We are very laid back, and like opportunities to do things and meet people. We don't like to be scheduled or to have routines imposed upon us as a rule. However, if I'm free and on the day there are things we both want to do, I will be happy to take you :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have an office you can use with decent Internet connection, although occasionally it does have bouts of slowness it rights itself after a while.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    This is a maybe. We have two dogs so we would have to discuss how this would work before your stay.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Minimum 2-3 hours a day

N° de référence hôte : 193914323649