Experience living off-grid in rural Portugal, Tabua

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 9 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    2 humans, 3 dogs and soon to be chickens and mountain cows living as off-grid and sustainably as possible here in central Portugal. We aim to grow almost all our own food and medicine and live in as simple and natural way as possible.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn what it's like to live off-grid in rural Portugal, how to build and maintain and permaculture garden, how to ferment and preserve what is harvested from the land and all the other things that go on behind the scenes to make the place look and work like it does.
    Faith, who lives on the land runs regular workshops in fermenting, flower essences, breathwork and some some other creative things, as well as producing fermented/probiotic foods and drinks for some of the local community, so you'll not only learn how and why to make these yourself but you will also be able to attend any works she is running when you stay for free too.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help required changes from month to month depending on the weather and jobs needing doing but it ranges from...
    Land clearing: Which may include strimming, burning, cutting, racking, staking, moving and composting wood, brambles and other organic matter.
    Building: From time to time we have a building project on, like making a chicken coup, goats pens/fences, other buildings and eventually we will be building a cob house too. You may be asked to assist in this (depends on your skills), even if it's just to fetch and move things for someone else.
    Planting: We regularly plant new trees, seeds and seedlings and other shrubs and herbs and you may be here when we are doing those things and are asked to dig holes, plants seeds or put seedlings in the gardens.
    Weeding: This always needs doing a little bit in the gardens but some times of the year throughout the rest of the land too.
    Fermenting: We produce some fermenting products (Kombucha, Kraut, Kimchi etc) for the local community and from time to time you may want to join in and learn how and why to make your own.
    Watering: We water most things most days in the summer months as there is little to no rain fall here then. Most things are on the irrigation system, but a few things may also need extra water from time to time that are not.
    Cleaning: Obviously the communal areas like kitchen, bathroom and lounge areas need cleaning occassionally and you may be asked to do or help with this when they do.
    We try not to do the same thing every day, so you should see a mixture of things happening and needing help with during your stay.
    You would be expected to help 5hrs per day Mon - Fri. You will be fed and watered on these days too. We all have time off at the weekend, when you do your own thing and fed yourself.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Portugais: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    At the moment we can only take volunteers with either there own van/campervan/caravan or those that do ot mind staying in a basic tent. We have a hot shower, compost toilet and communal kitchen.
    Mattresses, bedding, towels etc is provided for you if you decide to stay in one of our tents.

    Mon - Fri ...
    Breakfast: Make yourself from what is in the communal kitchen
    Lunch: We have a communal light lunch together made for you.
    Dinner: We have a communal dinner together made for you (or you may be asked to help make it as part of your 5hrs for that day).

    All food is vegetarian, healthy, digestive health enhancing and where possible homegrown or locally sourced. WIth plenty of fermented/probiotic foods and drinks.

    Sat & Sun ...
    You have the use of the communal kitchen to make your meals yourself as and when you want them.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are within walking distance of a small village with a couple of cafe's and there is a bus stop close by that will take you into the nearest town . There are lot's of lovely walks and river beaches in the area and we are 50 mins drive away from Coimbra (the 3rd largest city in Portugal).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is plenty of space on the land for your own vehicle but to access the land you have to travel down a track that is a little bumpy but totally passable (i've done it with my vans and caravan fine).

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes we can accept workaways with pets, but be aware we have dogs here ourselves that roam free (and soon chickens and goats) and so do the neighbours too. If there is an issue with your dogs and our animals you could be asked to leave.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (Mon - Fri)


N° de référence hôte : 193776964896