1 / 5

Join our Swiss-American family in Pukalani, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 224 fois
  • Activité récente: 25 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    We are a Swiss-America family (2 school aged teenage/almost teen boys) who are looking for some help in and around our house. Our garden is pretty large, or rather what should be a garden one day. A lovely rescue dog is part of our family and she appreciates walks and attention. Currently we have one large project in our yard for which we'd like someone who can take the lead.

    We also have a separate large 6-acre farm property (with no farm on it yet) where we will be building a house and where there is a lot to mow, water and weedwhack.

    We do NOT live by the ocean, but at about 2200ft/600M elevation. The nearest beach on the North Shore is a 20min drive away. If you do not plan to rent a car, be aware that you'll be dependent on the bus, which is a great way to get around but definitely does not get you everywhere (and the bus routes are not the best planned ones). Check out Maui Bus to get an idea if that is something you can see yourself dealing with (we are about a 5-10 min walk from the nearest bus stop). Unfortunately a bicycle is really not an option as a mode of transportation for where we live (who wants to do 0 to 2200 ft on a regular basis with no separate bike-lane but just biking on the side of the highway), but can be one in combination with the bus (only the bus takes a max of 2 bikes per bus so if there are two bikes, you'll wait for the next bus).

    We speak several languages and are comfortable with people from all different places. We love meeting people from everywhere cooking together etc.! But we'd also love someone who can speak either Swiss-German or French and help our kids maintain/improve their language skills/keep connected to their mother-tongue.

    We have a bedroom available and can host ONE person. Separate toilet in that part of the house too. Shower is in the kid's bathroom.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are passionate travelers ourselves, understand people from many different backgrounds and love showing our beautiful island to new people (as much as work and other obligations allow us to). Makes us get out and about to and every now and then forget about all the work and all the stuff to be done.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We have 1/2 acre property with a vegetable garden where there are always projects and we have an ag property where there is gras to mow and fruit trees to water. We also always have project in the house if someone is interested.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Private bedroom. Shared (with children) bathroom.

    We are mostly an eat-at-home family. And of course our workaway is part of the family and on days when we both work we do appreciate someone who can maybe prep a dinner every now and then.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Maui has so many amazing sights, beaches, hikes that you will need to be here for a good amount of time to explore it all!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    About 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 186526939677

Feedback (4)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Learn about international cuisine and enjoy a language exchange with me in Portland, USA
Exciting adventure in a rustic cabin in the woods of the Maine cost, USA