Help with our non-profit project to save Spanish Barb horses from extinction in Tucson, Arizona, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 175 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.12.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 3 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    CURRENT OPENING: Winter, 2020 well into Spring, 2020 for: one or two volunteers and/or married couple.

    The host ranch is a 2 miles from the City of Tucson, a UNESCO City of Gastronomy and designated a Festival City, set in the Sonoran Desert. There is lots to see and do; arts, culture, music, sports, and regional foods. Tucson offers a constant flow of events.

    We are all volunteers and gain no revenue for our preservation work to promote these horses as individuals and as a breed. This is a privately owned home/ranch and not a business.

    The need for these horses to get out there and be seen is urgent. Less than 300 are alive and my dream is to help get them show what they can do, add to their numbers and save them from extinction (They came to the Americas hanging by slings below decks on Spanish ships in the 1600 -1700's. I love sharing their magnificent history and behaviors. They are sweet, patient and enjoy people and are under 15-hands.)

    My FIRST PRIORITY IS:
    1. Someone Trained and Skilled in Entry Level Natural Horsemanship (ideally - Pat Parelli).
    This is an EXCELLENT opportunity for you to gain experience across a variety of horses, replicating: Starting horses with "On-Line Groundwork" and "Entry Saddle Training" for 8 endangered Spanish Barbs (AKA Colonial Spanish horses) in natural horsemanship. You are welcome to stay for weeks or months! Your role will focus on training. Horse care is secondary if your skills are solid.

    THEN: If I have a volunteer trainer, I'm looking for some RANCH PROJECT HELP: In building, construction or remodeling experience. #1 The horses urgently need run-in shelters in their pastures.

    If the above Horse Training Job is filled, then I can add a volunteer who loves: cooking, house-keeping, gardening and light house projects such as painting. There is the option of helping support the horses care if you are interested and able.

    The RANCH: I want to enjoy each volunteer. I work hard, show kindness and support positive creativity and adventuring. I do my best by being clear about expectations and I demonstrate non-horse work if needed. I depend on you to communicate openly which makes for a confident, happy and peaceful experience. I live by Christian values - and so encourage helping one another, patience, being generosity with others, pride in work, and healthy living, so I don't host; over-serving, hookups, drugs or smoking. What I really enjoy most is laughter (general silliness is welcome). and learning about you and your life experiences!

    ME? Adventuresome, a lifelong learner with a very wide scope of interests. A hardworking senior needing help as taking care of all the horses myself. I've my M.A. in Environmental Studies, love ethic foods, natural history, upbeat indie movies, volunteering and all animals. I've lived in British Columbia, Canada, and in Oxford and Kenya each for 7+ months each with Christian NGO's,

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    OUTDOORS: Recreation here is YEAR-ROUND with many hiking and biking trails, colorful sunsets, historic destinations and our Sky Island habitat on Mt. Lemmon. Or, just relax and practice siesta.
    WEATHER: Summers are very HOT (105 is common), while Fall + Winters are WARM and sunny with shirt-sleeve weather year round. Remember Tucson has 300+ sunny days annually. And, In 2019 we got just 1 day of snow!
    WILDLIFE: The ranch is mostly native habitat with wildlife outside the door. Listen to coyote choruses and maybe see - a beep-beep, road-runner.

  • Aide

    Aide

    MUST HAVES: Two to Four Years paid work experience in any job or industry.

    A workaway volunteer who wants to help in a SUPPORT ROLE to the trainer may include mucking, scrub water troughs, raking manure and keeping the barn area tidy. Putting on fly masks or sheets on/off, and mending them as necessary. You are good at completing tasks without reminding, and starting new ones. Your role is to provide for the horses comfort and care. Their welfare comes before anything else. Your notice each horses' condition, and can treat small injuries. You love spending time with the horses just hanging out, or grooming, walking or playing with them. You can catch and lead horses with confidence. You love physical tasks and can occasionally swing a pick, dump brush, dig, and lift 40 pounds without difficulty. (I can email you a daily schedule about horse duties).

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    COOKING: Everyone's food preferences are welcome and you are welcome to cook in the kitchen or help with meal preparation as much as you like. A solid breakfast and dinner is provided; with snacks and lunch salads, and sandwich preparation ingredients or left-overs - which are free choice. COME COOK! The pantry and kitchen is available 24/7. I like to stock your favorite foods or just come shop with me!

    ACCOMMODATIONS: The "LONG STAY" bedroom is huge, with a king bed, (and a single bed if 2 friends travel together) You have separate heat and a/c controls in the room, plus a ceiling fan. Your bath is all tile with a shower over jetted tub, and with dual basins. You have a chairs, sofa, a table with chairs, and a full-size refrigerator with freezer and microwave.
    The "SHORT STAY" bedroom across the courtyard is sunny and comfortable with its double bed, single bed, desk/table, side chair, ceiling fan, and a mini-fridge. Your private tiled bath immediately next door, with a shower over tub.
    If you travel in a RECREATIONAL VEHICLE, there is fresh water, an electric outlet and a concrete pad to park on. There is FREE black/grey water dumping 4 miles away.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Check out what's happening in Tucson! See: - the Tucson Weekly.

    TRANSPORTATION: Your own transportation will give you the greatest freedom, but Uber and Lyft are available. I can drop you off at the nearest bus station in Tucson, 2 miles away, if needed. We will likely do some local travel together and I can play tour guide.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 -5 hours a day, 5 days a week with flextime available

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




N° de référence hôte : 181916121129