Volunteer at a family ranch in the Chilcotin plateau of BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 258 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    16.07.2020

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Right now we’re looking for a workawayer or 2 that have some calving experience or would like to get some experience. We calve end of March to end of May...also have a fencing project! Message me if you’d like to help! Thanks!

    Hi, I’m Hellen and we have a 4th generation working family beef cattle ranch in the Chilcotin plateau of BC Canada on 5500 acres plus rangelands. Our family of three, plus 2 full time employees, practice sustainable, regenerative agriculture. We graze cattle on pastures and crown range, use management intensive grazing, fertilize naturally with cattle manure, and make our own hay. We have cattle, horses, dogs, a cat and 2 birds, as well as a household garden.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We hope that our workawayers would be part of the family and take part in family and community life, ranching, and enjoy the beauty of the Chilcotin wilderness. It would be an opportunity to practice your English conversation and experience western ranching culture.

    You could also share your culture,history and cuisine with our family, who really appreciate sharing in both directions!

    Sorry, we don’t accept smokers or couples. Generally, we are looking for volunteers over age 23. Thanks!

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for workawayers who have an interest in ranching beef cattle and learning about all aspects of this life. You would be doing a wide variety of work including driving tractor and machinery for seeding and haying, irrigation, range riding using quads or horses, fencing, working with cattle, repairing things, working with others and also working independently. We try to involve volunteers in everything on the ranch and they would live and be part of the family and team, so would also doing some gardening, cooking/dishes, take care of family pets, etc.

    What we do and when:

    We calve from about the end of March to the middle of May. Then we have several brands, we have cattle drives to range, and work on irrigation. We do some management intensive grazing, minimum till seeding directly into pastures, and cover cropping through the summer, along with haying. This is a great way to learn about regenerative agriculture and how it works to build soils.

    We are building more permanent electric and barb-wire fencing to improve our grazing management and are repairing fences that need it. There may also be an opportunity to learn log fence building.

    Once the cattle are on range, we ride horses and use the ATVs to check on them, the grass, watch for predators, and move them to new areas as needed. This goes on until the end of October and may involve some camping out on the range.

    From mid-June to August we are haying. This period involves longer days but is fun, if you enjoy the satisfaction of learning to put up hay and irrigating.

    In Sept/Oct, we move cattle around the range and at the end of Oct we round them up to bring them home again. In Nov, we'll be checking for cattle pregnancy, weaning and selling calves, and moving cattle out to fall range to graze.

    From mid-Nov on we have family time without visitors until the following spring.

    In general, we are looking for mature volunteers who have experience with or want to learn about tractors, machinery and mechanical repairs; farming and haying, fencing, irrigation, calving and cattle health, low-stress cattle handling, riding horses (optional), are willing to take on any jobs, are self motivated, want to learn and don't mind working hard. It's fun and we're flexible about getting time off to explore the gorgeous wilderness in the Chilcotin and Canada, but we work hard and at times the hours are long.

    Spanish would be an asset as we are trying to get better at this language!

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Bunkhouse or room in our house

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located 2 hours west of Williams Lake, which is where we can pick you up at the airport. If you want to get around p, you will need your own vehicle. The closest very small town is Alexis Creek (1/2 hour away), which has a small general store and a small restaurant and Tatla Lake (50 minutes away). There are not many facilities out here, and it is isolated, but there are community events and beautiful lakes and mountains within an hours drive.

    We require a commitment of at least 1 month. Travel insurance is required and we will need a copy. Workawayers eat with the family, and help do their share of cooking and clean up. We eat meat and a variety of healthy, whole, home cooked meals, and love to learn new recipes!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5hrs a day 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 181892978589