Enjoy a rural experience in the Perigord Vert region of the Dordogne, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 13 fois
  • Activité récente: 8 déc. 2022



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hi, we are Mike and Andrew, two fun-loving guys (with a cat) having moved to France in October 2018 to retire. Living in a stone house in the Perigord Vert region of the Dordogne in 10 hectares of woodland with a lake. The forrest has an abundance of wildlife, the lake is well stocked with a variety of fish and there is no light pollution so opportunities for stargazing are fantastic.
    We are dedicated to improving the house and the land which is in need of a little restoration following some years of neglect.

    We rent out our former Millhouse during the spring and summer. This is a great hobby for us as we really like meeting new people. So come and stay with us and experience the French rural lifestyle.

    We hope to host up to three people capable of helping outside in all weathers to help us restore our property and complete our projects. We need to fell trees, cut logs and clear scrubland to ensure that the forrest can be properly maintained. Our orchard needs a lot of help to bring it back into use and it is our intention to become as self-sufficient by growing as many of our own vegetables as possible. We also have chickens providing fresh eggs daily.
    Consequently any expertise or experience in tree surgery or forestry and gardening would be very welcome. However, sheer enthusiasm is quite enough.

    There's plenty of local French culture to enjoy with two bars locally within cycling distance and weekly local markets to visit in the two towns.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    Entretien général
    Pratique d’une langue
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Living in the heart of the French countryside we offer a peaceful, tranquil ambiance typical of rural life. There are many things to do or simply enjoy relaxation. There are many Long standing local French markets. Although we speak English at home we are developing our French language skills so we are happy to speak French with you.

  • Aide


    Our projects include:-

    Clearing and refreshing woodland
    Felling trees
    Cutting logs
    Upgrading our Orchard
    Preparing land for growing vegetables
    Replacing old decking
    Several minor projects, including painting, resulting for some previous neglect

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    The accommodation is a three bedroomed, self contained and fully equipped former Mill with open plan lounge/diner and kitchen. There is English TV with a DVD player. Laundry facilities include washing machine, iron/ironing board and drying rack/outdoor washing line?
    There are three double bedrooms and two shower rooms. There is a balcony from one bedroom overlooking a small stream with a waterfall. Leading from the downstairs small lounge there is an outdoor terrace equipped with table and chairs and BBQ. There is also an above ground plunge pool.

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner are provided each day (with the odd cake or pastry during the day). You can either share all or some of the meals with us in our house or they can be provided in your accommodation if you wish.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our rural location is very quiet but we are certainly not isolated. There are many things to do within walking or cycling distance. We have bikes for you to use. Our house sits in between two villages, Augignac and Abjat sur Bandiat, both easily accessible by bike. The two towns of Piegut-Pluviers and Nontron, holding weekly local French markets, are a little further away but still within cycling distance. We are able to assist you to gain access to the transport links to larger and further away towns like Angouleme, Perigueux, Bordeaux and Limoges so that you can visit these wonderful French sites.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 167494564132