Learn together with us, helping out with some restoration projects at our homestead on the Mendocino Coast, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 93 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 3 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    August 2020 edit: We paused our account for several months because of Covid, and are only now exploring the possibility of hosting guests in a safe manner. We are limiting ourselves to guests who are currently within a day's drive of the Farm. We are still working out the logistics, so please message us and we can figure this out together. Please stay safe and healthy!
    *****************

    Help us with some restoration projects at our ocean view homestead originally established as a dairy farm in 1870, and reestablished by us in 2018. We have 3 acres on the rugged Mendocino coast. We recently moved to the country from Southern California and we are looking for someone to help us take care of our chickens, bees, dog, cat, and garden, and whatever other projects we dream up. We could use a little help planning and maintaining our homestead, in addition to miscellaneous other chores around the house. There will also be some yard work, brush clearance, cooking (if you want), reclaiming old lumber and planting a garden. There is such a variety of things to do around here, we will put your talents to good use! We would be grateful for about 3 hours per day (5 days per week) working on these tasks.

    In exchange, we offer a comfortable room, shared bath, home cooked meals and the company of our ever-expanding menagerie of critters. Breakfast and lunch food will be available on self-serve basis and one home-cooked dinner will be prepared 5 days a week. Our ranch house sits on a bluff overlooking the ocean and comes with gated beach access. We have fast internet, which is uncommon in this remote area. Redwoods surround us. We are in between Elk and Point Arena, about a half mile from the ocean. There are many activities for the outdoors enthusiast, so bring your hiking boots and surfboard!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The Mendocino coast is one of the most beautiful places in the world, but it is also remote. We are a 1.5 hour drive from the nearest "big town" of Ukiah (population 15,000), so it is important to be self-sufficient, yet understand the value of community. You can't do it alone out here! I think travelers will learn how to work collaboratively, and see what rural America looks like. At the same time, we are three hours from San Francisco, so the big-city vibe is within reach (August 2020 update: Trips to SF are discouraged at this time, due to Covid). Suzy and Rod are from diverse backgrounds--she is a midwestern gal, and he is from Cuba. It's a win-win: Everybody has something to contribute, and we all have something to learn.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There are too many items to list! This had been a 200+ acre dairy farm from 1870 to 1966, then we bought the last three acres (plus nine old-growth redwood outbuildings!) in 2018. The "deferred maintenance" list is overwhelming, in addition to the projects we want to start. About half of your time will be spent on tasks such as brush clearance and running fence, but the other half will be tasks that will be more "interesting." What is your talent? Building, animal care, small engine repair, working with reclaimed lumber? Sewing, canning, social media, organizing, horticulture? We can keep you occupied with something that you will find engaging and worthwhile. Specifically, you will be asked to do the following from time to time: weed whacking, watering and maintaining flowers, cutting grass, feeding goats, feeding chickens, feeding dogs, brush clearance, white wash outbuildings, painting, help shopping for and cooking supper, canning, clean and maintain tools.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a small bedroom, with wifi, twin bed, dresser, closet, and table. Wifi is great. You may have your own bathroom, depending on if we have another Workaway guest or not. We reserve the right to use it if the other bathrooms are occupied, but we won't be using the shower in there.

    You will be provided breakfast and lunch on a self-serve basis, dinner will be a home cooked meal 5 days per week. Guests are welcome to take part in meal preparation, but it is not required.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    This is a remote location, so you won't be able to walk anywhere, except to the beach. Ideally, you would have your own car. When we go to "town" (Fort Bragg, Point Arena, Ukiah, etc.), you are welcome to come with us. There is a once-a-day bus that goes to Fort Bragg and Ukiah, and then to Santa Rosa (Covid update: No bus service to Santa Rosa now). There is public transportation from Santa Rosa to Oakland and San Francisco. So, there is plenty of hiking and surfing here, but we are a day away from the big city.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Our internet is pretty good here. It's fast enough for streaming, gaming, and working online.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 hours per day 5 days a week

Michael, Earvin, Larry and Brownie.
Suzy in her fowl weather gear.
Brownie and Sam.
Nothing like the smell of freshly baked bread!
Sam, Alex and Bekah, Desperados out riding fences.
One of the many beautiful sunsets from the front porch.
Sunset through the Sea Cypress.
The stylish beekeeper and the kept bee.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 166843434332