mis à jour  

Discover life with an Irish family in our countryside home in East Cork, Ireland

  • Enregistré comme favori 137 fois
  • Activité récente: 15 avr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3, Lavinia (45, stay at home mum), Misha age 9 and Ewan age 7 (both attend a local primary school); 3 cats, 1 gerbil and a dog!

    We are vegetarian, so all the food I cook is vegetarian. However, if you would like to cook meat for yourself, that's ok with us.

    I am beginner level at woodwork, pilates, sewing, badminton and Irish set dancing. I have an interest in herbs as medicine, permaculture and sustainable living. I have been a member of Couchsurfing for many years, as a host and as a surfer- staying with a local is the best way to experience the culture of a country!

    Misha loves arts and crafts, reading and playing button accordion. Ewan loves playing with toy cars, lego, and football. They both love cycling, swimming, building dens, trampolining and Minecraft.

    We live in a rural part of East Cork but just 5 miles from the nearest village and 8 miles from the beautiful historical seaside town of Youghal. There are regular buses from there to the cities of Cork and Waterford.

    Generally, volunteers work 4-5 hours per day Monday to Friday, however we are flexible on this so if someone wants to work a full day to have another day off etc that can be arranged! Please bring old/work clothes with you.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We would be delighted to help with teaching English, and some Irish maybe! I can teach irish set dancing and bring our workawayer to a traditional ceili night and for a drink in our small local pub. We can show you around our beautiful part of the world, we are close to the coast, woods, the Knockmealdown and Comeragh mountains and many historic buildings.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have started a big restoration project on our old stone cottage (pre 1830) so help with that that would be brilliant! There is a lot of digging to be done, also lime plastering etc etc

    We would love help in the garden, grass cutting, strimming, weeding, digging and watering plants. Depending on the time of the year - sowing vegetable seeds, potting on and planting out.

    Help also needed with painting, building an outdoor compost toilet, and cutting firewood.

    Possibly some help with babysitting and housework and if you have some tasty vegetarian recipes for us to try out that would be great!
    You need to be able to work alone or not mind children 'helping' on occasion!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your accommodation will be in an old campervan parked in the garden away from the house (Wi-Fi is only in the house). It has a double bed accessed by a ladder, camping toilet which can be emptied in our waste tank. However you have full use of our bathroom and kitchen/living room aswell.
    There is no heating in the campervan so we do not accept volunteers during the colder months.
    We usually wake about 7.30am, breakfast at 8, lunch at 1 and have our dinner about 5.30pm. The children go to bed about 8pm.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have a bike that you can borrow or can bring you to the nearest bus stop if you would like to travel further!
    There is lots to explore in Youghal, Lismore, Ardmore, or day trips to Cobh, Blarney Castle, Kinsale. The river Blackwater flows into the sea at Youghal and can be enjoyed by boat or kayak trips.
    The Greenway in Dungarvan Co Waterford is a great track for cycling or walking.
    If you tell me your interests, I can advise on other things to see and places to visit!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Small campervans welcome, we have a hard standing area or grass to park on. Outdoor electricity point and outdoor tap on site.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Any pets must be cat, dog and child friendly!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 158892822474

Feedback (7)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)











Beach life and gardening in Clonakilty, West Cork Ireland
Join our family in the countryside of Clonlara, Country Clare, Ireland