mis à jour  

Come help our five year old kid discover the world and stay in our stables in Catalonia, Spain

  • Espagne
  • Enregistré comme favori 587 fois
  • Activité récente: 20 sept. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois



  • Description



    My name is Pepa. Me and my 7 year old son Martin live in a horse farm close to Tarragona, Spain. Currently we have 10 horses, 6 ponies, 2 dogs and 2 cats. I run a small NGO dedicated to horses from the perspective of  respect and companionship. Horses stay in the outdoor paddocks which are connected to the boxes, they are free to stay in or out at their own will.

    Martin's dad passed away in February 2023 and I became a one-parent family. Since then, it is proving difficult for me to find some quality time with my son. I am now in the process of finding ways to resize the entire projet so that I can have some quality time with Martin.

    I open my stables and home to anyone interested in staying with us a few months and help us take care of the animals.
    The main duties for the Workawayers would be making sure that the horses and dogs are well cared for, so basically feeding horses and mucking the paddocks. Horses eat hay three times a day and some of them eat dry food twice a day. Dogs eat twice a day. 

    Riding in the stables would be allowed for experienced Workawayers. We have a dressage arena to ride and a 20m round pen to lounge horses. Sitters could also join some outside trails with our teacher when scheduled. 

    This could be a great opportunity for a couple or family with experience caring for horses willing to spend some time around horses. The daily tasks would be perfectly compatible with an online part-time job (we have wi-fi in certain common areas of the farm). We also organize activities for families and kids, so it is a good opportunity to blend with the local culture.

    Workawayers with their own campervan are also welcome, we have space for campervans and can provide with the electricity connection. We also have common areas with bathrooms, washing machine, shower, desks for working, and even a separate kitchenette.

    We offer several voluteering packages based on the type of Workawayer and their volunteering goals:
    - Single volunteer/accommodation only: 3h/day, 5 days a week in exchange of accommodation
    - Family volunteer/ accommodation only: 5h/day 5 days a week for on of the parents. This option is available both for families who need accommodation or those coming with their own campervan the family and use the common areas during the day.
    - Single volunteer/food and accomodation: 5h/dat 5 days a week. (OPTION AVAILABLE ONLY ON SPECIFIC DATES)

    Thanks for reading me all this far long! Looking forward to reaing you :)

    Pepa and Martin

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We often have friends coming over and every now and then some kids come to ride horses, so you will have the opportunity to meet local people and learn about our culture.
    The local pool is open during summer time, so you can enjoy meeting the villagers there and at the village bar, where they make really amazing organic pizzas!
    If you like horses and are proficient at horseback riding, you will also enjoy horseback-riding through the vineyards and mingling with our animals!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We need help in different areas:
    1) We are looking for a self-motivated playful person to help our 3 year old kid discover our world through experimentation. The person would help getting him ready in the morning to go to his activities, and playing a few hours in the afternoon/evening. She/he would speak to him in English. Cooking skills are also very valued at home :)
    2) Basic horse caring. Mainly feeding and cleaning the paddocks/stables (they stay mainly outdoor)
    3) House fixing / basic house construction projects. Being mainly made of wood, our stables need tons of maintenance! We have to refurbish some of the sables and we have some ideas things we would like to build. Some wood/plumbing/electrical knowledge would be VERY valued
    4) Interior design projects. We also want to re-invent our space and we need creative hands-on help :)

  • Langues parlées

    Catalan: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You will stay in a small horse farm in a small Catalan village. You will have your own room with a shared bathroom and kitchen. We have solar panels and our own borehole, so we are very conscious about energy use.
    Food will be provided; it is best if you enjoy cooking as you may cook your own meals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our stables are in a semi remote location. We live 400m away from a small village, where buses run on very specific hours. You can walk, byke and horsebackriding aound the area, or take a bus/car to the beach, Port Aventura (the amusement park) or Salou/Cambrils. Trains also run to Barcelona every 30 mins, and the fast train (AVE) station is not far from our place.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have three dogs (two males and one female) and welcome friendly dogs used to kids, people and visiting dogs!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5h/day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 153497583284

Feedback (10)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

Off-grid wooden cabin near Riudecanyes village, Tarragona, Spain
Dog rehabilitation center, permaculture and construction help in Valencia, Spain