Come provide companionship and assistance for my elderly parents in Idyllwild, California, USA



Enregistré comme favori 114 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    I am a busy professional looking for help with my lovely elderly parents (ages 88 and 93) in the beautiful mountain community of Idyllwild, California. They will love getting to know and having a bit of support from visitors from around the world, while I am in the city working during the days. I am very excited to share our beautiful area with Workawayers and will deeply appreciate the support. I am happy to host individuals or couples/friends/families traveling together. I look forward to welcoming you!

    Very sincerely,


  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Idyllwild is a beautiful mountain community centrally located in southern California. We have the famous Pacific Coast Trail running through town and there are events during the through-hiking season for hikers. Workawayers can explore the nature all around through our moderate year-round weather - hike our part of the PCT (we can provide camping gear for overnights) and other trails in town, rock climbing, mountain biking, bird watching, etc. There is an animal sanctuary (Living Free) in Mountain Center and an intake center in Idyllwild. And we are within 1 hour of Palm Springs/Palm Desert, 2-3 hours from San Diego, Orange County, Los Angeles, and you are welcome to take our truck for weekends off to explore all of southern California. You are within reach of endless beaches, amusement parks, and the culture, nightlife, and fantastic restaurants in the cities. **Unfortunately due to COVID we will need to be very cautious of off-time activities now, and we can discuss this further.**

    I hope Workawayers will love connecting with my family. My parents are very sweet, although their personalities change a bit as they are aging, always devoted to each other and connected in a really beautiful way. Things are shifting and slipping as they get older, but they have engaging intellects and stories from their life and love meeting new people. They have a large library of books to enjoy at their home within a mile of ours.

    My son comes out from his home in Arizona to help me on home improvement and other projects. He is a brilliant "jack of all trades" and can provide mentorship on this type of work, his trade of locksmithing, and his passion for motorcycles. He is super sweet and friendly and has recently started traveling abroad and will love to share travel stories with you!

    I started my career as a nurse but am now a Healthcare Consultant working with hospitals all over the US. I am happy to share stories about my career path(s) and anything related to healthcare administration or clinical nursing.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    I work out of the area during the days, usually 2 days per week and occasionally up to 5 days per week, and need light help for my parents ages 88 and 93. The set schedule would be a 1-2 hour morning and 1-2 hour evening visit with my parents, and aside from these set meal-times the scheduling can be very flexible. I need Workawayers to help them keep groceries stocked for breakfast and lunch, prepare vegan (preferred) dinners daily, take my mother the 1 mile drive into town daily to pick up the mail and perhaps errands like getting her hair done, drive them to doctors appointments, and light housekeeping.

    My parents will enjoy company and help with chores, and my mother needs help getting dressed in the morning, but no clinical care or anything that requires special skills. They lived independently up until they moved in with me during COVID, but this company and assistance will enrich and make their daily lives easier and allow me to focus on my work during the days knowing they have some extra house help. My father is a retired teacher and my mother was a teacher's aid, and they spend most of the time watching news and sports on the TV. Do be prepared for them to talk (Liberal) politics aplenty! But they will also share stories as best as they can remember now, of their lives filled with travel (they've traveled all of North America in their RV since they were a young couple), and of their loving life together.

    I can also use a small amount of help around my house, maybe 1 hour per day on light housekeeping, easy pet sitting of our adorable golden-doodle pup, grocery shopping, and occasional errands. If Workawayers enjoy yard and handyman/construction tasks there is lots to be done to maintain our one acre property.

    Unfortunately we need to also mention COVID precautions, considering my parents are extremely high risk. We'll need to find Workawayers who are comfortable with strict precautions during time off, and are sorry that this will necessarily restrict social activities. We'd love to host a couple or friends travelling together, who are looking to immerse in the nature and enjoy local hikes including the PCT.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    Workawayers may have their choice of accommodation either in the guestroom of our home, or our camper in the yard for a more separate space. We have a spacious modern-rustic three bedroom (plus office), three bath home with all amenities. We are on a one acre property full of trees and wildlife passing through. There is a large deck to enjoy the sunshine or the stars at night. The camper is installed under our tall pine trees, an 11.5 foot AlpineLite self-contained living space with a shower, separate toilet, kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge/freezer, and a coffee maker. All of the beds are high quality and we keep a clean (if not as tidy as I'd always like!) home. Regardless of which accommodation you choose, Workawayers are welcome to share our house (kitchen, tv's, high-speed WiFi, etc.) and property and make themselves fully at home. We are located about one mile from Idyllwild town center, so it is an easy walk or just a few minutes drive to get into town.

    Idyllwild is a very peaceful area. We have lots of young travelers coming through town hiking the PCT but the town itself is very small. This will be a great fit for people who enjoy the peace of nature and appreciate time on their own.

    Workawayers are welcome to share our food, eat out with us, and will be asked to help grocery shop (allowance provided) to keep our home stocked with food, and to prepare vegan dinners during the week.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Workawayers will have full access to our pick-up truck for chores and personal time. We are considering getting a smaller car as my parents are struggling with getting in/out of the trucks now, which would also be better for Workawayers to commute into the cities on weekends.

    Please no smoking and absolutely no drug use or excessive alcohol use on the properties.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have excellent WiFi and comfortable work spaces in the house and out on the decks, so we are very happy to welcome digital nomads. Outside of set meal times for my parents the schedule can be very flexible around any other work that you need to do.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have campers ourselves, so our platforms are full but we have plenty of space to accommodate more.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 149856635137