Aidez à restaurer une maison victorienne et vivez avec une sympathique famille à Philadelphie, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 541 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    61  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.06.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    431

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

     

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    [By sending us an email, you MUST BE READY to COME!]

    Hello to our Workaway Friends dying to get to the City of Brother Love, PA, USA! Volunteers work 10 hours a week, Sunday-Thursday from 7 AM 9 am. Vegetarian meals are included as are a great guest room! Workawayers are always welcomed to take mini trips to NYC, Atlantic City, Lancaster, and Washington, D.C. or wherever folks want to and can get to!

    Please read and review our needs. Do not contact us until you read and reviewed the Workaway Workbook. No introverts, please!

    We are restoring an 1892 Victorian mansion that we saved from the wrecking ball in 2010. The house was run into extreme disrepair, so there are TONS of work that needs to be done. In the 10 years that we've owned it we have replaced the very complicated roof, rebuilt the front porch, removed all of the old electric and replaced it with new. We have stripped and repainted half of the East wing, and have demo'd a dilapidated carriage house.


    (1) We prefer a long-term commitment of at least 4 weeks but would take someone for less time if it works for all.
    We need: People with carpentry skills to assist with rebuilding indoor stairs, hanging doors, plastering, spackling, indoor and outdoor stripping and staining wood, painting, sanding, restoring windows, cleaning, general housekeeping, and gardening etc.. People must be able to work independently with instructions. People must be details oriented. People must have exp. with power tools, and not be afraid to climb 3-stories of outdoor scaffolding. People must be mechanically orientated, be able to measure, problem solve, and be able to manage time, etc…

    (2) You must have some experience/skills with the above-mentioned tasks. MUST BE COMMITTED TO THE PROJECT AND WITHIN 48 HOURS OF ACCEPTANCE, YOU HAVE TO PROVIDE A COPY OF YOUR TRAIN /PLANE/BUS/TICKETS OR ITINERARY, ETC. We've had many people state an interest, agree to come, and then do not show which is detrimental to our moving ahead. Please research travel costs/dates/plans etc... before inquiring, AND most importantly, research your travel tickets before committing.
    ______________________________________________________

    (3) So that we know you have read our profile and needs, in your inquiry/response, please answer the following question: Q.) Why do you think it is important to preserve historical architecture?
    _________________________________________________________________

    (4)This is a construction site. Please re-read our current needs before contacting us, and again, research your travel costs/dates/plans, etc...before inquiring.
    _________________________________________________________

    (5) Again, so that we know you've read the requirements, in your inquiry please answer the following question: Q.) Why do you think it is important to preserve historical architecture?

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The city of Brotherly Love has much to offer in terms of history, art, music, food, outdoor activities such as hiking, biking, paddling, etc... Come and check us out! We will assist you in getting to the tourist sites/trails, etc....

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You have to be someone who does not mind getting dirty and who enjoys preservation projects.

    Without the help of many hands the house would have been destroyed and townhomes/Apts. put up in it's place. By volunteering time, work and love, you are helping to save and preserve this structure so that it may remain and serve as a piece of history for generations to come. It is a vital key to the past.

    People are expected to be mature (in other words, clean up after yourself, be neat and clean), not smoke on the property, and no picky eaters (this is a vegetarian house), not be video game addicts, and generally be friendly, social people. This environment does not work well for introverts. The house is filled with fun, chatty people who enjoy life but not having to babysit other adults. . There are two cats on the property as well!

    People who enjoy living off the grid do well here. We have huge garden plots on our property that we share with the community. People who love history and who are social do well here.

    We are located in the city of Philadelphia. Bus stop is in front of the house, and there are several more buses in a 1-block radius. We are 10 minutes from Center City, museums, restaurants, pubs, parks, and walking distance to hiking trails, the Schuylkill River, Schuylkill Nature Center, theatres, restaurants, etc.... Philadelphia is a great city with many different cultures. There is a lot to see and do and we will assist you with getting around to take advantage of our beautiful city! We can lend you a bike, and/or a kyack!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Great Guestroom!
    Shared bathrooms., laundry, etc..
    THIS IS A VEGETARIAN HOME. We cannot accommodate complainers or picky eaters, All meals are vegetarian. There are 2 sweet resident cats who are indoor/outdoor.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located 15 minutes from downtown tourist attractions, museums, etc,...We are also in walking distance of Fairmount Park/Wissahickon/Gorgas Park, etc...where there are hiking/biking trails, rock climbing, kayaking, Schuylkill Nature center, John Heinz Nature Sanctuary, shops, restaurants, etc. All major buses stop within 1-block . Long-term workawayers are preferred, but we're willing to try out different situations. Come out and help the save the house and rebuild!




    This is a vegetarian home. This is an atheist home.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    max 2 hours, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.4)

Communication: (5.0)




































N° de référence hôte : 148729223821