Help challenge my gifted 6-year old, whilst enjoying life in our hippie household in Giethoorn, Netherlands



Enregistré comme favori 35 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Description


    We're a small hippie 2p-family in need of help. My six year old son JAKE has got the cognitive skills of a highschooler and has strong motoric skills as well, but as most gifted kids struggle with, he has the emotional resistance of a 4-year old. I am trying to teach him some mindfullness, but it's still a working progress. He is already in Special Education, but even there, they have no grip on how to 'deal with him'. Coming schoolyear he will finally go to the advanced class in hopes of a better fit. (Fingers crossed) I suspect he needs to be challenged more, but because I am also in an intense program & try to start up as freelance writer, I hardly have time/energy enough to keep up with his needs. We hope to receive some help from an awesome WorkAway Member :)
    Jake is a sweet, caring and energetic boy who has the heart of an explorer. As soon as he figured out the puzzle he gets bored and wants a new challenge.

    Jake kan already speak a word of English and is learning quick. He is often practising with CouchSurfers, and we would love for you to speak English with him as much as you can. Other language practise is welcome too, anything to keep him challenged. We often hosted over in weekends, since we live in an touristy area of the Netherlands, Giethoorn is famous for being 'The Town Without Roads' (-> See Pictures). He is interested in a lot of things, like Legos, gaming Horizon Zero Dawn and others, but Dinosaurs are his absolute favourite. Talking about physics and chemistry, and reading is something we often do together, but it would be awesome if he could draw and paint more, do other arts and crafts, or finally learn to play the keyboard that he got for his birthday, or play badminton outside with someone who has the patience to teach and playfully correct his frustration when something doesn't go the way he thought it. He is also very interested in combat sports, nature, climate change, and other moral issues such as refugee crisis. If you have any skills, stories or fun thoughts about 'How to challenge a SmartyPants' feel free to try :) The general idea you should get is, that he just needs a friend who can challenge him.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am no teacher, but as an aspiring writer, I have learned how to be a good listener. Wherever you are on your path of life, I am sure I can help you with something as well.
    We have a lot of warmth to give, and hope you feel like home in no-time. Don't worry about being a guest and not allowed to grab things out of the kitchen, you're an immediate family member as soon as you walk in the house. We practise Mi Casa Su Casa, if you want to keep something for yourself you'll have to hide it in your room haha ;) Your room isn't the best yet, but it already has it's necessities (cozy bed, electricity, internet, light and a place for your stuff) and we can improve it in no-time so you'll feel even more at home :)
    If you want to speak better Dutch or English, I am fluent in both and we can practise :)
    We have a keyboard in the kitchen and a shed full of tools in case you need to repair anything.
    Oh, and before I forget, if you like reading, I have quite an excessive library of English/Dutch books, (and even more e-books if you're into that) mostly non-fiction and classical literature. But I also have a small international library, with some french, german, spanish and portuguese books.
    You can stream Netflix/Disney, or watch some of my downloads, listen to our audiobooks on your own laptop upstairs if you don't want to hang out, use your own bike to cycle around the National Parks or attend something fun you found on MeetUp (also, traveling with a bike in the train cost only € 7.50, and you can make way more of your citytrips if you're on a bike) or hang out with us in the library/lounge, kitchen or garden. The front garden is just big enough to sit and read, but always has sun and people walking by. The backyard has a small fruit garden and lots of birds, and lots of shade for the hotter days, and lots of privacy. The gardens are also a good place to smoke in case you have that need.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Biggest priority: Challenge Jake.
    Additional help in order of importance: Cooking, Dog-walking, assisting me in a make-over upstairs to turn the area from dump-attic to digital nomad paradise xD
    Bonus, but not most important: Language learning (I am currently studying German) Jake is leveling up in English. I also have a tiny vocabulary in Spanish and French.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    At some point in my life I want to travel the world, so I am ticking off as much languages as I can from this wishlist as possible before I actually go: 1- German 2- French 3- Spanish 4- Portuguese 5- Italian 6- Esperanto 7- Russian 8- Hindi 9- Arabic 10- Mandarin/Chinese If you want to learn Dutch or English, you'll learn it in no time :)

  • Hébergement


    Our house is very comfortable, it has large rooms and should (hopefully) feel as a home to anyone who enters. Mi Casa Su Casa is very important to us, because we're lucky to be born into a rich country, and being aware of it, we love to share it with as many cultures and friendly travelers as possible. Laundry and dishes are done by machines :)
    Downstairs is where Jake and I both live, but as long as you return objects back in it's original place, there aren't a lot of houserules to learn. Oh, wait, we don't eat meat, and eat vegan for 2/3 days of the week to minimize our carbon footprint, but we're not hard-core and do make exceptions every now and then. So, not a lot of rules to remember, but do keep in mind that I dislike cooking so much that we often choose the easy way. If you're skilled in that area, maybe we can arrange a few days of the week for a home cooked meals.
    I like to keep the house (only downstairs) structured by giving everything a place, something that is very important to me and one of the few things that I am rigid in. Don't worry, upstairs is for you to decide how you want to live :) For now, it holds a private room with a 2-person bed and a laptop, (not much yet, but with a little help we can turn it into something awesome, I'm sure) Jakes playarea is also upstairs, and behind a closed door we hide a messy attic. I can use some help with minimalizing this area to make a proper WorkAway TinyApartment and to make the room more cozy. We'll have to do some shopping together ^^
    You can use your own bike to get yourself around, and since we're in the middle of the Netherlands nothing is 'really far away' so a lot for you to explore in your free time. We live inbetween two National Parks and love to cycle there ourselves as well. If you like campingtrips, we might have some spare gear for you to make your weekends off extra special with.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Visit the cultural capital of Europe; Leeuwarden, explore student-city Groningen, walk & cycle through the many National Parks in the neighbourhood, visit Hanzesteden Zwolle, Hattem, Zuthpen et cetera. Don't forget to walk often in the magical Giethoorn, it has a special vibe if you get up early and walk 'Het Binnenpad' when there aren't any tourists yet. Go to Amsterdam! See Europes biggest harbor in Rotterdam, or cross the borders into our neighbouring countries like Germany, Britain, Scotland, Belgium, and also, not very far away by train or Flixbus: France, Spain, Luxembourg, well, you know the map ...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Upstairs in your private room is a desk area where you can work. WiFi is good, and the laptop upstairs is available in case you don't carry your own. If you're willing to help with remodeling the area, we can implement a better office somewhere for you :)

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have two large parking area, one in front of the house, and one on the side of the house. Parking is free :)

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Our dog Pepper is 12 years old, but still curious and in a good mood. Jake would love to have more animals in the house, but since I am focused on world-travel as soon as we can, I don't want to adopt any more pets. They are always welcome though ;)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 136941798376