Help refresh and organize my small home in a big village, Correze, France



Enregistré comme favori 69 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

  • Description


    Hello and Welcome!
    I need someone energetic who can help me clean, sort and refresh my house, someone who loves to do new things and to make a difference!

    There are loads of things to do. I don't expect one person to do everything, but if you can help me with some of the things on the list then please feel free to get in touch. Once upon a time I could do it all myself, but old age is creeping up and I don't have the energy I once had... I have some renovations that I really want to get finished. I am sick of living in a mess...

    I need someone who is happy to get dirty.
    I am sad to have to write this but PLEASE NO ALCOHOLICS OR DRUG ADDICTS.
    I prefer non-smokers too. Likewise if you have to be connected to you phone 24/7 then this is not the place for you.

    There is a lot of work for a handyman/good DIY person. woodwork and general small repairs.
    And normally, if there is something you don't know how to do, I can show you.

    There are lots of craft projects that I have started and am now unable to finish.
    Candle making, model making with modroc and chicken wire, patchwork, feltmaking, dyeing, and that's just a few!.

    The whole house needs to be refreshed and organised. My craft supplies need organising. Oh! how they need organising!
    And I need help to declutter and reduce the quantity of stuff I have.

    My house has no land round is in a very pretty street. In the spring there are my outdoor plants to look after, so a bit of gardening. I don't have a garden so it's all pots. In the spring and summer they need planting up and watering. And I need creative ideas for a new ‘green’ wall. (The last onedied in last year’s heat...)

    Can you teach me how to use a new computer, and how to buy and sell things online? There is loads of stuff to get ridof. Both my cellars and my attics (I have more than one of each) need sorting and emptying.

    In exchange you will be well fed, (I'm happy to do vegetarian or even vegan) You will be in a beautiful and interesting place, and, if you want to, have a nice social life with lots of activities.

    I live in a small house in a big village in the Correze, I live alone and need help with all sorts of stuff. The village is about 5km from the nearest small town. It is not the centre of the universe and doesn't have loads of public transport, but there is a bus every hour to the town. It is a nice place for walking and there is a big supermarket not far away. I live a very simple lifestyle and expect helpers to respect that. I am trying to convert two little houses into one larger one. I am a good cook and like to socialise. There is a lot of activity in the area, it's a nice place to visit.

    I look forward to hearing from you.
    Have a nice day.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I live a very simple lifestyle, and mostly French. I am happy to speak either French or English with you. I also belong to several organisations which involve mixing with mostly French people on a day to day basis.
    I sing in a choir, we sing Gregorian chant. I belong to the local SEL. (local exchange trading system) and am part of a couple of meditation groups and I'm in a couple of art groups. There are several interesting historical places to visit in the area and I am happy to spend a couple of afternoons visiting them with you. or, on warm days, going swimming in one of the nearby lakes.
    I do a lot of craft work so you could learn new skills and maybe find a new passion!
    I love to hear people's adventures and learn about their cultures too.

  • Aide


    PLEASE READ THIS CAREFULLY! Please save us both hassle and don't reply if you don't fit the criteria!

    I would really like to find someone with a good DIY skills. And someone to help complete craft projects such as candlemaking, fabric painting, patchwork, decorating, etc. I also need someone with basic Plumbing skills.
    I have a busy social life which you can join in, though you may prefer to do your own thing. I prefer to have helpers for a week to ten days at first, though if it works out it could be a bit longer. I need someone practical who is able to follow instructions.
    I don't have a garden but there is a balcony and pots around the house which needs a lot of TLC but the rest of the outside space is up the mountain, so only workable in summer. I also need help with filing, organising craft materials and a bit of sewing, as well as lots of arty/craft stuff so you can be creative.

    Ideally I would like someone who can come in December, preferably from within the EU with a European Health Insurance Card. I ABSOLUTELY don't want someone who needs to be connected to internet/ mobile phone 24/7 AND you must be able to get up early without me having to keep asking!

    I will always try to give you tasks that you enjoy, but sometimes it is tasks that just needs to be done, which sometime means helping with the renovations. I will work with you when I can, but prefer you to be able to work without supervision. I really don't want someone who, when I turn my back starts playing on the internet or chatting to friends online. I'm not a slave driver, but I do expect people to respect the purpose and deal honestly with me, which hasn't always been the case.

    I like a glass of wine or a beer with my meals, but in moderation. So NO ALCOHOLICS AND NO DRUGS please, I hate having to say that, it shouldn't need saying.....
    So no "heavy drinkers." please. if that's you, don't come here!

    I expect helpers to help with the general running of the house as well as their help, i.e. sharing the cooking, dishes, tidying etc, and to keep their own space clean. I do not provide a taxi service, though will help if possible and am happy to visit places of interest if you want to explore the region. In the summer I like to go swimming in the lakes.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Italien: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    VERY Simple living. Spare room with 2 single beds. There is some internet access, and only basic French television which is rarely used. Fairly low tech. Short showers (i.e. less than 5 mins) switch off lights, don't waste resources. Home cooked food, the occasional alcoholic drink. There is a bus service into Tulle - nearest town, and it's near enough to walk on a good day. I'm a good cook and happy cooking vegetarian food. The wifi connection is sometimes a bit iffy, but most of the time it's OK.
    I also have a space in the attic. It is big and clean and private, so I could have an extra helper there, but not in the winter!
    Once the other part of the house is completed there will be more space. And it is getting there!
    There is a wall of collage that needs someone artistic to finish it...

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I live simply but not poorly. I expect volunteers to do their share of the cooking and housework too. In return I have quite an active social life and there is always stuff going on. Many of my friends are into somewhat alternative lifestyles. Nice friendly place, walking distance to most facilities. There is a train station not far away and you can get to a lot of places reasonably easily. I will be happy to take you places in the afternoon, such as Gimel les Cascades, or Musee Chirac or shopping in Brive la Gaillard or swimming (in the summer!) in one of the numerous lakes in the area. We can plan when you are here. There is some live music in Tulle, especially during the summer and 'nuits de nacre', a cinema and a theatre, several bars and restaurants, a swimming pool and a sports centre as well as the market a couple of times a week. Be aware that in the winter lots of places are either closed or have restricted hours, so check if there is something specific you want to do. You can borrow my bicycle if you need to. No problem.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    up to 25 hours, 5 days per week. Early start. (8.30-9am)

N° de référence hôte : 131817212547