Exchange with us on Itamarca Island, Brazil

Country

Brésil

Enregistré comme favori 610 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    88  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.11.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    2841

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on the quiet paradise Island of Itamaraca, North East Brazil.

    I am from Belgium-Madagascar and have travelled in each one of the 193 countries of the world, volunteering in more than 500 schools for 10 years. Now I have found my paradise here in Itamaraca. It is my turn to welcome volunteers and exchange with them.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am lucky to have traveled to each country of the world and would be happy to share our travel stories and stories about the cultural exchange workshops we organized in primary schools for over 10 years with an NGO.

    Come and volunteer with us and you will have plenty to learn about it ;-)... and I will be eager to hear about your own travel stories.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    General maintenance, washing/cleaning, preparing the apartments for our guests. We have high cleaning standards.

    Exchange and play creatively with our 9 years old son.

    Minimum 2 weeks commitment please, but one month is much better ;-)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    One private room in a house, in the same street as the condominium we work at, with shared bathroom and access to kitchen. It is an old house, but very charming to me. It has a big garden, and I have 3 dogs.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Itamaraca is a tropical island in NE Brazil, an hour’s drive from Recife International Airport, with a long road bridge connecting it to the mainland.

    Most of the island comprises protected natural rain forests (mata atlantica) with a few trails, but on the ocean side there are miles of long white sandy beaches.

    All kind of beach and watersport activities are available on the island. It is also a kitesurfing prime spot. But it is not crowded and mostly peaceful and quiet (except for carnaval and local/regional/national holidays).

    Itamaraca has a very interesting history with dutch and portuguese settlements, and hosts one of the oldest churches of Brasil (second oldest).

    As you would see, Itamaraca is a very easy going and peaceful place that most people fall in love with. However, don't expect nightclubs there, but it is still possible to have fun or have a drink out.

    The volunteering work is about cleaning the apartments (we have a high cleaning standard for our guests so we do require a lot of attention to detail and professionalism), helping around the house and doing some maintenance work in the apartments, as well as playing with our son (9 years old), he is a very creative boy, loves stories and making them up. He has a lot of imagination and likes to play with people who also have a lot of imagination. He loves crystals and would love to learn how to make jewelry with them. He is fluent in 4 languages: spanish, portuguese, french and english).

    Work assignments for workawayers is cleaning or playing with our son. The program depends on the nb of volunteers we have, the bookings we receive and the weeks when Lenny is here with me: 2 weeks during the month. The rest of the time he is with his dad, as we are now divorced. Sometimes they travel together also, so the schedule with him can be pretty flexible.

    As there is no restaurant here, we don't offer meals, but we offer access to the kitchen and some basic ingredients (flour, olive oil, spices), and there is usually home made bread on the breakfast table.

    Volunteers are hosted at my house (up to 2 couples) in a charming albeit old brasilian house in front of the condo we manage, a street away from the beach. There is a big garden, kitchen, and lounge area. I have 3 dogs. It is an old and simple house but it has a very nice soul. The bathroom is shared but the room is a private room.

    You have access to the washing machine (when it is not used) and laundry detergent.

    Volunteers also have access to the pool in the condo, provided that they use it reasonably (no music, and loud / splash games in the pool and common areas) and give priority to our guests. We give preferences to duo travelers.

    It is expected from the volunteers to keep all common areas and their rooms clean at all times.

    Work is 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. It is important that volunteers respect the work timing. If you finish tasks earlier, you may be asked to do maintenance/cleaning work around the house/garden.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (Maximum 25 hours/week)

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

























































N° de référence hôte : 128899566838