Help a British couple with gardening and around the house in Bize-Minervois, France



Enregistré comme favori 23 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    We are a middle-aged british couple living in the south of France looking for people to help us get our garden and house under control as we moved recently and a lot of work was done in the house. Kitty used to work in the NHS, David in the voluntary sector in London. Kitty works as a professional saddle fitter and as an English teacher, David as an artist and illustrator.

    The accommodation we offer is a self-contained large studio gite for a couple, all brand new, with access to a heated pool (open from April to October). We are in the beautiful medieval French village of Bize-Minervois which has various restaurants and bars as well as river swimming and wonderful hiking and wildlife. It's half an hour north of Narbonne and equity-distant from Beziers and Carcassonne.

    We are both experienced managers, as well as being parents of grown-up children. We both have long-term health issues and have both been ill recently, which is why we need help now getting things done! We are both recuperating slowly so can't tackle much physical work. David paints and Kitty does a lot of horse riding , we live a quiet life but enjoy seeing our friends and enjoying the wildlife and walking and having a garden for the first time in a long time. We have three cats and a young dog. Obviously it's their house really.

    The main work we need people to help us with is gardening - clearing areas, digging, planting, taking stuff to the dump -we can't really lift much so need help with that. We also need help with some work in the house, a little bit of decoration work - filling holes, painting - nothing very technical or difficult.

    The accommodation is pretty luxurious - we rent it out most of the summer, and has a lovely attached deck (built by previous workawayers!) next to the pool which you are free to use between April and October. We love it here, and hope you will too.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is a beautiful area of France close to lots of interesting cultural things. Built in concentric circles around a medieval church, Bize-Minervois is a typical "circulade" village. Its picturesque streets, courtyards and gateways are a delight to explore all year round.
    The village is very well serviced. It has:
    • 3 restaurants • small supermarket • 2 hair salons  • post office • café/bar
    • 2 bakeries • pharmacy • beautician • local cinema in the village hall • medical centre • small local market each Wednesday
    All are within a short or very short walk of the house. Bize is located at the foot of the Black Mountains and is within easy reach of the beaches of the Mediterranean, La Cité at Carcassonne, Narbonne, Beziers and many other areas of interest, including the canal-du-midi and the amazing historical town of Minerve.
    The area is one of the largest wine-growing areas in Europe, and Bize is surrounded by beautiful hills, vineyards, and pretty villages. There are lots of local activities including river swimming in the village, horse-riding, cycling, walking and bird-watching. There are concerts and fetes going on all the time in the surrounding area.

    Bize is a lively and friendly village. Kitty and David are bilingual in English and French, and there would be opportunities to mix with local people (french and anglophone) and learn and speak French and English.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We are looking ideally for a couple as the accommodation is set up that way. One double bed. We moved to this house two years ago and did a lot of renovation work, which has left various finishing chores to do and especially gardening.

    We need help with the large garden and also with housework and cooking, as we have both been ill. The gardening will involve some heavy work as well as weeding and clearing up after pruning etc. with some sweeping and digging. In spring we also need help clearing the undergrowth, which we are required to do to prevent forest fires spreading. Also some planting. In the house we need help with spring cleaning, dusting, hoovering and some cooking (cooking will be part of the hours, not extra). We also need help with some work in the house, a little bit of decoration work - filling holes, painting - nothing very technical or difficult.

    We need help with all sorts of stuff! We are looking for 25 hours per week each, five hours per day Monday-Friday, in return for meals and accommodation in the self-contained luxurious studio apartment. The pool can be used in spring. We will be asking for the apartment to be kept in a perfect clean and tidy state (as it is one of the gite rentals normally) in your own time. If we ask you to cook for all of us, this will be in "our" time, as part of the housework we ask you to do. The accommodation is self-contained so you will be able to have your own space and cook and eat there (although we are responsible for the cost of food).

    We also have a great relationship with the local ranch, and there can definitely be the possibility of doing some work there in exchange for horse riding.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    The accommodation offered is a studio apartment for a couple, built into the back and bottom of our house. It is spacious and self-contained, and brand new including its own well-equipped kitchen and bathroom, and its own front door and terrace area - with a beautiful deck built be a previous workaway couple. Access to wifi is available, and access to the swimming pool. It has its own washing machine. The bathroom has a walk-in shower, the kitchen has a dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave, coffee maker etc. The accommodation is non-smoking. Cats and a dog live in our house, but shouldn't bother you.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is lots to do locally - but transport is poor. We would prefer someone with their own car, but it isn't essential. There is NO SMOKING allowed inside anywhere. We have three cats and a young dog and although they are not allowed in the gite, you need to like them and not be allergic as they go everywhere else. We live a fairly quiet life, we walk, Kitty does a lot of horse riding and David paints and we enjoy socialising - Bize is quite a busy and friendly village.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 128175714632