Come join us and let us show you what the Tennessee hills have to offer. Look forward to meeting you in Rogersville, USA



Enregistré comme favori 128 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Description


    Hey there! My name is Cat and my two kids (Rosemary is a 3yo and Luca is 2) and I are starting a permaculture food forest from bare land in Rogersville,TN. Looking to host people wanting to experience the homesteading lifestyle in the Tennessee mountains. I love teaching animal husbandry, gardening and just general homesteading skills. Looking forward to sharing skills, stories and meals with new people!
    We live completely off grid in a 200sqft. home and have a short bus camper set up for helpers, but are wanting to build a small log cabin back in the woods. There is a composting toilet and outdoor kitchen/shower area. We have a small garden and orchard, but are constantly adding to it and would like to farm 2 acres or more of food for ourselves and our community. We want to develop our land into a working,off grid, permaculture farm where we can teach sliding scale workshops, have a garden for low income families, and inspire folks in our community and abroad to get back to a simpler, more eco friendly way of life. There are about 4 acres of beautiful field and 14 acres of forest. We have a few streams and a large creek for bathing and relaxing in. Must be ready to disconnect. We don’t have electricity, cell phone service or internet :) we do have a house phone for local calls and are 5 minutes drive to cell area for long distance calls and 15 minute drive to town where there are free WiFi spots and a local library.
    Come join us and let us show you what the Tennessee hills have to offer! Look forward to meeting you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Want to experience life on a off grid homestead? Like southern culture and food? We are your place!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Workers will be helping with building infrastructure such as barns, small cabins, outdoor cooking and bathing areas etc., animal husbandry, and gardening

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Right now our helper accommodations are our short bus that we gutted and turned into a camper. Includes a blow up mattress on a bed frame, wood stove, hardwood floors, solar lights, a desk and a outdoor seating are with a fire pit. It is much like a camping experience, so come prepared to be “roughing it” Access to communal composting toilet, outdoor shower and cooking area. Again, there is no electricity and no a/c, but is parked in a shaded area and can provide a fan. We love to cook together and share meals and we also allow harvesting from the garden,foraging and will stock the “pantry” in the bus with staples for solo meals. We eat mostly vegetarian, but have some great local meat options.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Rogersville is a beautiful area with hiking and some beautiful swimming holes. We frequent a gorgeous waterfall that’s a 10 minute drive for a swim. Knoxville is an hour away and we make weekly trips. There is ALOT to do and see there, whatever you fancy, they probably have it.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 124694826472