Come and help in our garden and learn about producing your own food on Denman Island, Canada

  • Canada
  • Enregistré comme favori 109 fois
  • Activité récente: 25 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    My partner Alan and I are passionate about growing our own food as well as providing it to other islanders. This is a very agricultural island and I spent 10 years on the Board of the DI Growers & Producers Alliance. Their motto is Denman Feeding Denman. I believe the climate crisis and the current war and food shortages make it essential that people know how to grow food. I love to educate people about how they can feed themselves. If you want to learn how to start seeds, how to plant and grow vegetables it is best to come in Spring (March-May). We have five acres of gardens (food and flowers) and are surrounded by trees. It is peaceful and quiet. The island is home to lots of artists and artisans and there are some lovely walks and bike routes.
    Unfortunately, we can't accept pets as we have cats and they aren't comfortable around dogs.
    I am immunosupressed so have to be careful. We need helpers to be fully vaccinated.
    We are coming to the end of the 2022 gardening season so won't be having anymore helpers until Spring, 2023

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have lots of artisans, painters, potters, weavers and a vibrant community. Alan and I are both ex-Brits now Canadians who are well-travelled and love to engage in discussions over dinners on the deck.

  • Aide


    In Spring we need help seeding, transplanting and planting in the raised garden beds, watering, and general garden maintenance. We do not use chemicals or anything toxic. We make our own soil and compost. There are three greenhouses.
    In season, we mostly eat our own and island produce that is organically grown. We welcome people who enjoy physical labour and who like to learn new skills. You don't need a lot of gardening/growing experience we can show you. We enjoy it when helpers cook their favourite meal for us. We like to know if you have food preferences before you arrive and will meet you off the ferry at Buckley Bay.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    Our guests stay in the house in a large room overlooking the garden. There is wifi.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are close to the ferry to Hornby Island which is a very touristy island with gorgeous beaches (ours are rocky). There is a bicycle for getting around. You can hike/walk the trails, watch the wildlife, swim in the ocean, get a tan, play pickleball and other games at the Denman Activity Centre. There is a summer bus that goes around the island.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 123114379321

Feedback (2)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)