Sympathetic volunteers for an old-worldly farm in Colembert, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 153 fois
  • Activité récente: 30 janv. 2023




  • Description


    Dear workawayers,

    There's a wonderful place abounding in life near the north coast of France; it's a spot where nature completely find its way, the more time passes. I call it "la maison dans la prairie", situated at about 20 kilometers distance from Boulogne-sur-mer in the Pas-de-Calais department. It's a region called " le boulonnais", especially known for its special breeds of horse and sheep.

    Well, my name is Thomas, I'm 31 years old and single, working on my farm with a lot of projects in mind. Currently there are eight boulonnais sheep, two geese and a few chickens, making a great atmosphere. My parents having a big part of it all as we live in harmony.

    Our work over here is almost exclusively manual, as we admire the knowledge and the skills of old times. We have very little interest in modern farm life and are happily stuck in the 1950s… taking our time to enjoy life at its fullest. We also think and discuss a lot about things that come up before we actually go in to action.

    We give a lot of importance to the food we eat (we are in France), purchasing at local markets what we don't have or don't grow ourselves. We enjoy cooking traditionally so we are not really adapted to someone who is vegetarian. 

    The objective is to have a small herd of sheep, two horses (boulonnais horses!), a cow (local!), a pig, geese and chickens; all this to make a more or less self-sufficient farm with vegetables, milk, fruit and so on...

    Therefore I need some volunteers to come to help work at the construction of this nice fantasy of mine and to share in enjoying it in the right way!

    Don't expect to be in the wilderness, the farm is a green oasis in the middle of a small village. There's only a 20 minutes ride to get to one of the provincial towns surrounding us.

    You are warmly welcome !

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    French learning; old-worldly experience as to country-life; insight into an alternative type of living; hands-on approach with living animals; great emphasis on traditional food and cooking

  • Aide


    There is always something to do at the farm. A lot of building work has to be done (brick-laying, digging, hammering, nothing over-qualified); a lot of garden work as well and then there is the daily taking care of the animals...

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

  • Hébergement


    a single bed

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Amazingly preserved area, countryside with small fields and many hedges, undulating landscape nice for biking and walking. Sea very close by, pebble, cliff and sand beeches. Very little night-life (what there is we need to create ourselves!)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

N° de référence hôte : 119397725282

Feedback (2)