Survival training, outback and river adventures and micro-farming in Florida, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 1064 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.12.2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings,
    This project might be a little different than what you might find on Workaway, The project is different for us too as we have made some major shifts in priorities recently. Our family has grown and moved on and we are taking a differently track, moving away from farming into a focus on “stealth living”, micro gardening, survival training, Honey Bee Rescue, Boat building and Sailing. If that appeals to you then read on...

    This is what a stay here will looking like::

    Location & Accommodations.
    You will live in one more of the following during your stay:
    !) On a wooded lot located in the Ocala national forest ( see the satellite image) north central Florida near the Saint Johns river. It is actually a very old campground that developed into a residential community over time. It is our fallback location in the event of economic collapse or just to escape stress. It is also where we have our honey bee sanctuary. It sits at nature's door to some of the most wild, pristine locations in the Florida sub tropics. You will sleep in a trailer or tent, take solar showers, and use an outhouse or camp toilet= roughing it.
    2) In a trailer on a small city lot located in Eustis, Florida sip is 32726. The trailer is located behind a small cottage and is close to a classic American town on a beautiful lake, quaint shops, taverns and restaurants . Perfect for biking, hiking and fishing on a huge lake.
    3) On a 35 ft Trimaran sailboat that we are repairing and preparing for sailing early 2020. The boat marina has a shower and toilet and the boat has a camp stove and bed. It is right on the St Johns river and you can kayak right form the boat to some really amazing spots for fishing and camping.

    Our projects
    You will be working on one or more of the following: Building hydroponic systems, a greenhouse, food preservation, manufacturing products from beeswax and honey with developmentally challenged Deaf people, growing and shipping green tea plants, preparing and selling our products in a farmers market, restoring a sailboat., food gardening, landscaping, maintenance, cleaning and/or cooking.

    Honey bee rescue (optional)
    We have an organization that rescues honey bees and its likely that you will see bee hives when you come (please note that it is not advisable to come if you are allergic to bees or do not have your own epipen) There is an opportunity to help us catch bees if you are interested or even graduate to an apprenticeship or job with us as a Tech in Honey bee relocation. This is an optional opportunity that can actually work into a career in Honey bee rescue for the right people.

    Off site projects
    We are near amazing forests, lakes and rivers. We will be doing the following: Establishing bush camps, exploring outback locations with kayaks, building secret floating houses and gardens, survival skills; water purifying, fire starting, shelter building.

    Recreation
    We have a house in town for weekend getaways. It is in and near historic lakeside towns with pubs and music and good restaurants. We can help shuttle you to all the train and bus pickup locations if you want to see the theme parks like Disney world etc. We take trips to the beach, invite you to family picnics and party together at times with our local friends.

    Other opportunities:
    We have a sister project in Costa Rica with a similar strategy and is listed as another workaway opportunity.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Bénévolat
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We make great American/Mexican food, go to interesting American outback locations, go to the beach, nightlife, music. We love to learn from other cultures and we love to share our culture with others.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Farming; greenhousing, hydroponics, growing Green tea, building our floating Aldeas, gardening, volunteering in the community, building Chinampas, recycling, Vermiculture.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Lots of options for sleeping; bunks camping trailer, bus, sleep on a boat, sleep in a hammock or tent, family room sometimes available, We encourage using our outdoor composting toilets, outdoor shower gray water systems.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are not far from all the popular places in Florida; Disney world etc. , Also Daytona Beach, St. Augustine, etc.. Close to us is great hiking, boating, see Manatees, Eagles, Alligators, Bears, also fishing, artifact hunting, the beach. Amtrak train station is close by, as is Sunrail and you can go anywhere in Florida from here; the Keys, Miami, Tampa for fairly cheap. Smoking is OK in smoking areas outside.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day 5 days a week



















N° de référence hôte : 116143694559