Aidez une famille sur la magnifique île Waiheke en Nouvelle-Zélande

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 1380 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    Hello workawayers - we are currently getting a LOT of enquiries, so apologies if it takes us several days to respond to you - we usually only reply on Sundays at the moment when we have more time. TIP: We will probably respond faster if you have special skills we need, and you put them in the subject of your enquiry. Eg - arborist available, gardener available, carpenter available - etc)

    About us: We are a writer and architect with a girl of 11 and boy of 7, who live in a renovated old house overlooking the sea on Waiheke Island, just 35 minutes by ferry from downtown Auckland. We are extremely well-travelled (50+ countries) and welcome people of all cultures and outlooks, and workawayers from any country, culture or religion are welcome to enquire about staying with us. We love animals of all kinds and have a friendly dog, two 1-year-old cats, some free-range chickens, + lots of native wildlife inhabiting our garden. The kids also have a pet spider who lives in our office (we call her Britney :) And we have also recently started leasing a sweet horse for the kids! He doesn't live at our house but we visit him most days.

    Nearly 9 years ago we moved here from Auckland city to enjoy a more fulfilling way of life, and be as sustainable as possible. In the process, we became mostly vegetarian (and sometimes vegan). We grow some of our own vegetables and fruit but we don't grow as much as we'd like, so your help is appreciated with that.
    Our 100-year-old house often needs repairs and maintenance, and we have a big garden so there is usually a project of some kind underway.

    In general we are looking for either 1 or 2 workawayers to help with a big variety of work such as cleaning/housework, gardening, childcare, painting and possibly building work depending on your skills. People with building/carpentry/plumbing/ roofing and gardening/landscape experience (especially those who can use machinery such as mowers and weed trimmers) are extra welcome. However, attitude is more important overall than experience, so if you are happy to try all sorts of things, you should fit in well with us.

    Also – at the end of 2022 we (with some friends) bought 29 hectares of beautiful ex-farmland north of Auckland – we are going to regenerate it with native forest and plan to start planting in May 2023. If you are staying with us for more than 2 weeks, we will probably spend one weekend (2 days) up on the land either camping or staying in a local cabin, planting trees and removing weeds. There is already some forest on the land and a stream running through it with a beautiful waterfall.
    If you want to be involved in this eco-restoration project please tell us so we can plan to involve you in it :) If you don't like to work outdoors in nature then it's probably not for you. (Work/helping times on this project is more on a volunteer basis and will probably be longer than the days at our home, but of course you will be helping to offset your own travel to New Zealand by doing it - so the planet benefits :)

    Workawayers usually stay between 1-4 weeks with us, depending on their skills and the time of year. (Shorter stays in summer, longer in winter. In winter we prefer at least a 2-week stay.)

    Waiheke is a beautiful island with lots of wineries, green spaces, bushwalks and wonderful beaches. Dolphins and orca (killer whales) are sometimes seen around the island (in winter especially) and we have lots of native birds. There is a friendly local community and lots of places to do yoga - in fact Waiheke's main yoga centre is just 5 minutes walk from us :) with fantastic yoga and meditation classes available.

    Our house is a historic old house with a close-up beautiful view over the water at Anzac Bay. We are close to a main bus route, so you can easily explore the island or get to the ferry to go into the city. You won't need a car to explore most of the island. We also have kayaks you can take out on days when the weather is good!

    Your room will be a separate garden studio (with comfy queen size bed) - so you won't be woken by children in the mornings on your days off!

    All meals are included in your stay.
    Dinner is eaten together, while breakfast and lunch is on a 'help yourself to items provided' basis.

    No smokers please. We eat mostly vegetarian and sometimes vegan food for ethical and environmental reasons, with the very occasional bit of fish or other meat (around once every 2-4 weeks). If you are vegetarian we will eat fully vegetarian food while you are here; if you are vegan we will eat a mixture of vegan and vegetarian food - you might need to make your own vegan option on occasion. (We usually use plant-based milks and yoghurt anyway but sometimes use parmesan in Italian cooking and also sometimes use eggs - however, we do not buy commercial eggs but only use eggs from our own happy very free-range hens.)

    We are flexible about workawayer(s) also doing a little part-time paid work in the time you are not helping us, because there is A LOT of casual work available on Waiheke. (Hospitality (cafe/restaurant/barista), vineyard work, gardening, retail, babysitting,cleaning, building.) We can also support you to find a job.

    We hope to hear from you soon :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will experience everyday life in a New Zealand family in a non-city environment, practise your English (if you are a non-native speaker), and learn about a variety of things, such as sustainability, gardening and cooking. Note that we are actively working to reduce our carbon footprint and prefer workawayers who are interested and motivated to be sustainable as possible.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    For single workawayers, a lot of the help will be gardening and cleaning help, with some cooking, animal care, a little childcare and general help around the house. If you are a couple, additional chores will include more gardening, painting, and possibly building, depending on your skills.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant
    Italien: Débutant
    Swedish: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    Your room will be a private, comfortable guest studio in the garden (so you can sleep in on your days off without noise from the kids :-)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Workawayers staying with us will get lots of English language experience - especially from our chatty kids, and I have also worked as an English language tutor so can offer you help too. You can also learn about organic gardening, sustainability and cooking.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Happy to have digital nomads stay and help, in between doing their work.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space for a campervan (but you don't need to sleep in it! :)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    up to 5 hours per day, five days a week, but will often be less - especially if you are working in the summer heat.

N° de référence hôte : 111997831815

Feedback (27)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Embarras du choix pour aider à Ngunguru dans notre petit coin de bush paradisiaque, Nouvelle-Zélande
Come and help me around my home and garden while getting to know fauna and flora in Waikanae, New Zealand