Aidez-nous à devenir complètement hors-réseau dans le désert du Kalahari en Afrique du Sud

mis à jour

Enregistré comme favori 193 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte Workaway

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.05.2018

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    240

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire
  2018 

 Min stay requested: Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a farm in the remote area of the Kalahari desert, no cars or people bother us here. It is only Suzanne (29 years) and myself (28 Years) and some cows, wild birds, tortoises, ducks, goats, dogs,bees and other wild animals on the farm. We are very relaxed and enjoy the farm lifestyle. We have traveled a bit ourselves (3 months in the UK and Ireland) where we also did some workaway work in Ireland on a horse farm. We enjoy the company of other people. Suzanne loves art, learning how to cook new dishes, and "talking" to all her animals, and I love working outside with my hands, doing gardening, building, and farming.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Cuisine / courses
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Projet artistique
    Aide avec l'ordinateur / Internet

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are slowly busy renovating the farmhouse and building a vegetable garden. We will need (seasonal) help with cleaning, painting, art projects, taking out weeds, fencing, working the goats, feeding the ducks, helping with the honey bees, plan a solar electricity system (this will be installed soon) and energy-saving systems, plumbing, occasionally helping with guests at my parents' lodge (about 20km from our house), cleaning the farm dam (it gets green very quickly), helping with general tasks around the house like cleaning, cooking and doing dishes. We are in the slow process of becoming more self-sustainable and trying to be more Eco-conscious, and would love to share this journey with other people.

    We live approximately 170 km from Kuruman and Kathu which are the nearest towns. Because we live far from town, shopping is kept to a limit. We have a big(ish) pantry, but you need to know that if we run out of a certain item, it will not be quickly replaced. If you know you often have cravings for certain things, we suggest you stock up on some of your favorite foods and treats before you arrive. We would love to have loads of fancy food, but at this stage, we cannot always afford exclusive items. That's part of our journey, trying to build ourselves up in the Kalahari.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In the Kalahari you learn how to appreciate the small things in life. You learn how a community works together to help each other in a very harsh and isolated environment. You will also be happy to learn that even though we are quite remote, we still have most of the luxuries like running water, warm showers and electricity.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Afrikaans, English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own bedroom, depending on how many requests we have. There might be times where you will need to share a room with a same-sex roommate, but this rarely happens and we will inform you in advance. The bathroom facilities are shared. (Take note, we are busy building private accommodation for volunteers specifically and this will include 2 bedrooms with two single beds each, 1 shared kitchen, 1 shared bathroom and a patio. If it is finished before you arrive you will stay there. It is still close to the main house, and we will still invite you for some socializing)

    We have a lot of entertainment available in the sense of activities: Pool table, table tennis, darts, board games, books for reading, an outdoor gym, and of course peaceful walks and beautiful nature scenes (There is a game farm that is only a short walk from our house where you will be able to view a number of wild animals)

    All of this can be enjoyed after hours and on weekends.

  • Autres choses...

    Autres choses...

    The closest big(-ish) town to us is Kuruman. Most hired cars aren’t able to reach our farm, only 4x4’s. For that reason we suggest you make use of one of the following ways of transport:
    • The bus service, Inter Cape, to Kuruman from almost any major city in SA
    • Flights to Tswalu Private Nature Reserve from Cape Town International Airport or O.R. Tambo International Airport (see the link provided for contact details to book a flight )
    • Rent a car and drive to Kuruman.
    • Flights to Sishen airport (near Kathu). Very small airport. Visit the following website to see available flights .
    We will then arrange to meet you at one of these destinations to pick you up and drive you the rest of the way.

    There is horses, quad bikes, jacuzzi, and bakkie-ski on my parents' farm we can arrange to enjoy on weekends.


    Internet: Please note we do have a cap on our internet data at this stage and our internet is for our work. You will not have access to unlimited internet, only access on specific times to read emails and do bookings online for your trip. We suggest you buy an MTN pay-as-you-go sim card, as most remote areas in South Africa do have MTN signal. To register a sim card on the South African networks, your passport and proof of residency (rental agreement) are required.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album












Host ref number: 495567141593