Sammy

Origine: États-Unis

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Mexique

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    20.10.2019 - 20.06.2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    670

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    I really enjoy Mexico and its people. My favorite town, so far, is Guanajuato, GTO, where I have attended Escuela Falcon, learning the language, as well as Latin dance. I am looking for a stay where I can not only do volunteer work, but also continue to learn Spanish, as well as visit some of the ruins and pyramids and beautiful sites in Mexico.
    I completed a TESOL certification in 2016. I have taught several volunteer positions over the past two winters that have increased my teaching experience, both in classroom situations as well as one on one tutoring. I taught English in Chiapa de Corzo (8 weeks - 2018), Puebla City (2 weeks - 2018), Boca de Tomatlan (4 weeks - 2018), and Guanajuato (21 weeks - 2019). I would love to gain more experience in teaching English as a second language, and/or teach basic math skills (Algebra, Geometry, Calculus) in an ESL-speaking classroom.
    I am good with people, and am a team player; I am also self-motivated and can work alone on various projects when necessary. I am a retired civil engineer from the United States planning to visit Mexico this winter from October through June as a temporary resident.

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I hope to find a volunteer position that includes teaching English in some capacity, but am open to using other skills that I have developed over the years.
    I am good with people, so any help that requires working with the public is exciting!
    Other areas that I have experience are general handyman skills including: carpentry, painting, sheetrock, as well as some masonry, plumbing and electrical, landscaping, erosion control and grading design. I am in good physical shape and health. I am a retired Civil Engineer.
    In addition, I love to cook - I know my way around a kitchen, as well as cooking delicious meals with food on hand. I love eating healthy food, and love vegan. I also have limited computer skills - I am well-versed in MS Word and Excel, and am very good at proof-reading and editing. I have a MacBook Air laptop that I use while traveling.
    I have a TESOL certification (2016), and would love to gain more experience in teaching English as a second language, and/or teach basic math skills (Algebra, Geometry, Calculus) in ESL-speaking classroom.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Débutant

  • Âge

    68

  • Nationalité

    American

  • Autres infos...

    I generally leave a place better than I found it, and clean up after myself.
    I like most music, and like to play the doumbek (mid-eastern drum) from time time as a meditation. I can also lead a Sufi workshop class from 1 to 3 hours if there is interest. I enjoy a game of chess when I get the chance. I am very interested in improving and upgrading my basic Spanish skills.
    I can give Sufi workshops if there is interest. I have pursued spiritual teachings for most of my adult life.
    I helped my (ex-)wife of 25 years raise and home-school two environmentally conscious daughters. I am now (2 years) a proud grandfather by my oldest daughter. Kids can be such a joy, are filled with natural curiosity, and usually love learning new things.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      no

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      I prefer vegan/vegetarian for my health and health of the planet, but not a purist.

Photos

London, England, 2014.
Shelagh Boughton and I during 2016 Cervantino festival in Guanajuato, Mexico.
Shelagh Boughton and I working on a project at the 2013 sufi camp in New Mexico.
Saladmaster training, Windsor, California. 2015
Alpine Alley, a coffee shop in Mountainair, NM. 2014
Sufi summer camp, 2013
Sufi summer camp 2013

Feedback