Jessica

Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexique, Nicaragua, Panama

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.03.2018 - 01.08.2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    CURRENTLY IN: Shelton, WA (USA)... I am looking for animal care/pet sitting/house sitting opportunities.

    I'm a single, twenty-six-year-old Welsh traveller. I have been travelling on my own since I was 18, visiting countries and seeing our world. From renting an apartment and finding a job around the Mediterranean (Greece, Spain) for a summer season, volunteering my time and ideas to charities (Uganda, Zimbabwe) during my semester breaks, and hitchhiking and camping to learn how others live (United States, Canada) leading me to appreciate my own good life more each day.

    As a woman, I am very ambitious, strong-willed and determined. I feel like I can pick myself back up and adapt to a new situation more than many of my peers in life. The variety and the unknown is what keeps me going -- I think it is what I live for and enjoy most out of the travel life. Growing up my parents introduced me to giving my time to others, charities and events where money could be raised in order to better someone else's life. For this I am thankful as it has enabled me to work within a wide range of opportunities. I have slept rough in the city of Cardiff (Wales, 2013) to raise money for the local YMCA as well as working in the same city in the Principality Stadium serving HRH Prince William lunch during an Australia V England rugby match (2015). No matter the circumstances, I will be able to assist.

    I have enjoyed reading my whole life, but another strong passion which has stayed with me all these years is writing. I have kept journals of almost every major adventure in my life with the decision to make these into books... and definitely make the New York Times Bestseller list! I am currently detailing the time I spent in Canada during Autumn 2018 at a homeless shelter; a very raw experience that I feel I need to get down on paper.

    I haven't owned a TV for 18 months. I am more into music than movies. I love a range of music, primarily rock (metal, psychedelic, prog). My three favourite artists/bands are a mixture of rap, nu-metal and reggae-inspired indie. I am definitely a documentary lover. Any kind of crime-solving, world-disaster, exposing common beliefs is a hit for me. I enjoy cooking, however, I am modest about my skills and believe the food to be edible and tasty.

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Jardinage
    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    As an only child I have learnt to take care of myself and work alone. As a world traveller living in hostels and picking up work quickly I can blend in with a team. I am a fast learner and hard worker that can easily adapt to any situation.
    I speak fluent English, but have studied French, Spanish and Arabic throughout the years. I did not list the latter three however as I would hardly say I speak those languages. I would absolutely love to learn more though, of course!

    My IT skills and knowledge of computers is pretty good - I have been able to use one from a very young age.
    Animals I adore. I enjoy my time around them, caring for them, cleaning up after them, nurturing. I can horse ride and I have spent time working as a junior wrangler at a dude ranch in Eastern Washington, USA for six weeks (July 2014). The same summer I spent five weeks as the animal keeper of a sanctuary down in Santa Rosa, CA caring for four miniature horses, six goats, ducks, chickens, dogs and cats. I always think of that place fondly as I found it very therapeutic spending my mornings clearing out their pens and feeding them. I have also dog sat in Victoria, BC (Canada) and was the puppy mommy at a Labradoodle breeder home in May (2018) for two weeks. Many of my reviews are on an alternative Workaway profile that I shared with another traveller, but I have many references if required.

    I have a number of years experience in the catering and hospitality industry beginning twelve years ago when I was 14. Initially, I was hired for a weekend event, the Abergavenny Food Festival (Wales, Sept 2007) through a family friend. The CEO of the business Vin Sullivan's (est. 1960) appreciated my work ethic and personality with customers, so I was permanently hired at the opening of the new store two weeks later where I remained until June 2012. There I learnt to fillet and gut fish, handle money with a cash register and chip & pin system, and take stock.

    For two years (2013 & 2015) I was subcontracted through a British events coordinator as staff for Lockheed Martin at the Paris Air Show. Here, the manager of our chalet tasked me with being the breakfast girl where I would greet and serve the businessmen daily with my warm smile and positive attitude.

    For five years (2013-2018), I was hired by Compass Group Ltd as event staff where I have worked at the Cheltenham Racecourses serving drinks, food and a buffet-style luncheon, all major events concerning the Six Nations Rugby including a late-night shift of dinner for the players and their families themselves, and concerts including Rihanna, Bon Jovi, One Direction and Bruce Springsteen.

    In the Spring (2019) I was the waitress at a vegan cafe in Wigtown, Scotland. I also assisted with the change over of guest rooms in the adjoining B&B, greeted and guests for check-in, and offered advice and itinerary ideas to holidaymakers new to the area from my own experiences on my days off.

    Following this, I spent two weeks at a Buddist Meditation Retreat just outside of Derby where I volunteered in the kitchen in the mornings prepping lunch. I would either have to come up with recipes using the ingredients stocked in the pantry or use the leftovers of previous meals to create something tasty and edible for the other volunteers, residents and guests. It was such a fun job and I felt honoured with the task.

    Summer (2019) I spent time in Slovakia, Austria, Hungary, Croatia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Italy.

    I'd also like to add I'm a professional hitchhiker after the twelve months where I hitched from Las Vegas to British Columbia and back south to Arizona all by the power of thumb!

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Âge

    27

  • Nationalité

    British

  • Autres infos...

    I am an ideal candidate for almost any situation. I love animals, caring for others and looking after and teaching young children. I try to always be full of life and ideas to help inspire others. My ability to adapt in to any given environment has helped me greatly over the past couple of years and I have come to known so many people that have encourage, taught and built me in to the confident and independent person that I am today.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      I am a vegetarian

Photos

Rafting the Nile in Uganda - August 2013
Somewhere outside of Merzouga, Morocco - March 2015
A Washington dude ranch Workaway - August 2014
Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda - July 2013
Bodega Bay, California - April 2018
One Mile Lake, Pemberton BC - August 2018
Okanagan Lake, Kelowna BC - September 2018
Cowichan Bay, BC - June 2018
Not a Workaway, but an incredible experience anyhow. Gweru, Zimbabwe - January 2017
Tonopah, Nevada - April 2018
Ruhanga, Uganda - July 2013
Monument Valley, Arizona - June 2016

Feedback