Evelien & Dorian

  • Belgique
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Explorer
Super Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Notre prochaine destination :

    France - du Jul 2021
    Voir tout
  • Description

    I'm a 35-year-old translator/teacher who loves to travel the world together with my boyfriend Dorian, who has been my life companion for the past 15 years. We started out backpacking throughout Europe & South-East Asia in our twenties. In 2016 we set out for one of our greatest adventures so far: a year-long road trip through North America in a 20-year-old RV, our very own Ford Jamboree. An experience that we'll cherish for the rest of our lives. We went wwoofing in several states (Florida, Montana, California...) and had many other interesting encounters by means of house/pet sitting, boondocking etc. Gradually, the idea of what to do once we got back home, took shape. Although we had both been city dwellers for most of our previous lives, we no longer felt at ease in the city of Antwerp, after having lived in the American and Canadian vastness for such a long time. Upon our return in Belgium, one of the first things we did was buy a minivan and convert it into a campervan, allowing us to escape the city from time to time. We moved to a campground in the countryside and lived in a trailer for 2 years. Now, we are planning to permanently return to nature and start a more or less self-sufficient way of life with an ecological hospitality business involving many small projects such as small-scale gardening & cooking. Hence, we'd like to gain as many educational and inspiring experiences as possible and find out how others have done before us.
    We've recentely welcomed a small dog in our life, which from now on will be travelling along with us. Her name is Nina (after the awe-inspiring Nina Simone) and she's absolutely adorable (cf. picture)!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / bien-être
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Langues
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Livres
    Films et télé
    Musique
    Vidéographie
    Photographie

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Entretien général
    Accueil / tourisme

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Pratique des langues
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I'm an English and Dutch language teacher with various experiences: secondary education, adult education (expats, asylum seekers...). I used to be a translator and interpreter in both English and Italian. Recently, I've mainly worked as an all-round administration assistant in educational settings. I have a hands-on mentality and I like to get things done.
    Dorian is a social worker with lots of experience with youths and disabled people. He used to work in a residential organisation for visually impaired people and has recently started teaching them ICT skills in the associated school. He's also finished his degree as a sous-chef (French/Belgian cuisine). Both of us used to work in restaurants while we were studying.
    Through our wwoof and workaway experiences we've both developed some gardening skills (weeding, mulching, planting, shoveling) and we are mostly able to work hard :-) we can also do all sorts of odd jobs around the house: painting, cleaning... We love DIY projects and by converting our minivan and upgrading our trailer Dorian has gained some experience with solar power and other technology.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    We'd like to freshen up on our language skills (especially French) and are interested in learning Spanish and perhaps Portuguese.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    36 & 39

  • Autres infos...

    truck driver's license (class C, no CDL)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback