Land regeneration and abundant forest retreat in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 283 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a meditation centre and off-grid land regeneration project, located on 34 Hectares of mostly forested hills, in SW Alentejo. Our aim is to to live in balance with nature, and to provide a supportive space for us and for others to practise meditation, Tai Chi, Qigong, Yoga and Martial Arts, and for connecting deeply with nature.
    We have begun the work of restoring the forest, improving soils, increasing biodiversity and increasing the water-holding capacity of the land to halt the ongoing aridification. We aim to increase our food production by creating a food forest in the valley. We have various building projects on the go, using natural and local materials whereever possible.
    Our diet is high-raw vegan and organic, free from junkfood, and based on fruit and vegetables. We are a no smoking and no alcohol environment.
    We are looking for volunteers who can be responsible and who appreciate the peace and quiet we offer here. We appreciate open and honest communication.
    It is the perfect place for someone who also wishes to deepen their own meditation, or who is really interested in learning or practising some Martial Arts or Qigong in their spare time. If meditation is not something you are interested in, it is probably not the place for you!
    We are three adults and a three year old child, although we are not all here all of the time.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Between us we have experience in systems design, off-grid living, building in wood and mud, computer software, running businesses, body-mind-spirit practises, health and diet, aromatic and medicinal plants, natural gardening, permaculture, distilling wild herbs.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Depending on the time of year.....

    LAND
    At the moment we need someone to come and help on establishing vegetable garden - some new beds we have made, planting out, weeding.
    There is also always plenty of strimming and clearing at this time of year.
    We always need help with forestry - clearing land, pruning trees, processing wood (chopping or chipping!). Someone with experience in coppicing, pruning fruit trees, chainsaw help would be useful.

    BUILDING
    We have some great natural building projects on-going, that you may have chance to help with.
    We have a full set of carpentry tools and machines including a lathe, and also getting into making furniture.

    OTHER POTENTIAL TASKS
    Improving greywater and rainwater collection systems and water storage.
    Occasional child care.
    Help with translation from English into Portuguese or Spanish for our websites.
    Plant-based vegan food preperation
    Help with harvesting and distilling wild herbs

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Armenian: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A small caravan in the forest is the winter accommodation. We pride sheets, pillows and pillow cases, and some blankets. It can get chilly at night, so if you have a warm sleeping bag do bring it, however if you do not have one, we can lend you more bedding. It is important to us that you are comfortable.
    There are various tent options for the warmer months, located in the shade of the cork oak trees.
    There are shared hot showers and compost toilets. And a shared outdoor kitchen.
    There is also space for your own live-in vehicle.
    We provide organic vegan meals, which you will sometimes help to prepare.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 15 minutes from the train station and can pick-up for a cost of 10€. We are 25 minutes from the nearest town.
    There are lots of other communities and alternative projects in the area, with occasional local markets and get-togethers.
    We are 50 minutes drive from the wild beaches of the Atlantic Coast and there will be opportunities to got there.

    If you are nearby and wish to come for a day or two to see if a longer stay would be good, that usually works well.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





N° de référence hôte : 999148313524