Come and help create a living space in a piece of forest land, near São Pedro do Sul, Portugal

Country

Portugal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 27 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.01.2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello dear one
    I'm thankful that you have interest in connecting with me and to visit the land which Im living in.

    I inherited 1.4 hectares of forest land, which has been in my family for 3 generations. This is my life project now.

    For me, life is deeply rooted in spiritual practice, connection with nature, healthy eating and meaningful heart to heart connections with other beings.
    Knowing this in my heart, I now work with all my strength, body and soul, to build a home in this land, and hopefully, self reliance (to some degree at least...).

    Food freedom is one of the first goals for me.
    I live a Vegan lifestyle for 5 years now. I care immensely about eating healthy.
    So while you stay in this land, we will feast on a plant-based diet!
    I will appreciate no commercialised tabaco, even thou I can be flexible.
    A big no, I must highlight, is alcohol.

    A bit about the land now...
    It is located in a protected forest area, in Serrazes, near Termas de São Pedro do Sul.
    It was used by my ancestors for agriculture. All their food came from here.
    It is a deep valley with terraces on both sides, with an abundance of sunlight and even more abundance of water! Literally, two small streams flow through the bottom of the valley and also a miraculous spring flows from below a tree root. So I already have it all.

    I started working on this land around September 2020. It has been abandoned to nature for around 15 years.
    So the first move was cutting and cleaning the areas meant to be cleaned. Half of the land is already cleared, and much work is been done on it.

    There is a small ruin on the land, the roof has fallen with the wildfires, and some walls look like they have been stronger in the past... so a project to be done, which Im preparing/waiting for the perfect timing and people to help me.

    The vision for the land is to create the space to experience life connected to nature to its fullest.
    Grow the food that will nurture me and my people, respecting the land, learning and honouring the ancestral knowledge.
    I have the vision to build a natural home here, but for now I stay in a small vintage camper, where I happily sleep in and prepare food. I find Im the most happy when I have less material possessions around me.
    There is a dry toilet with a bamboo structure around it, which works super fine, with an awesome view to the forest.
    I normally shower in the stream down the valley with ice cold water, which I love! So, hope you like that idea too...

    I have been on workaway, as a volunteer, since I started my world travels, and the experiences were all a super important source of knowledge and inspiration for the life Im building now.
    Now comes the time for me to give back.
    Im am just starting, with much to learn!
    You are most welcome!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Coming here, you will find peace and direct contact with nature.
    I don't wake up with any alarm clock, I follow Nature´s rithms, and my own.

    The culture exchange is all but limitless!
    I am 28 years old, still so much to learn, but also, a lot to share and inspire by now.

    What can you learn here?
    This is the third year that I am growing vegetables, many things I learned already and can share with you, hopefully many more I will learn from you.

    I am also learning about proper composting greenies and also human manure.

    Besides this immediate things, from spiritual practices I can offer much more.
    I am a Yoga teacher, practicing for over 10 years now.
    My day starts with pranayama and meditation. Yoga happens sometimes in the morning, sometimes in the afternoon. Depending on how it all flows.. Either way, in all of this, you are most welcome to join me.
    Im happy to share the practice, guide, teach and share all I have learnt from directly experiencing union.

    I play guitar and sing, so bring all your instruments!
    Let´s jam around the fire or greet the sun in the morning.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help would be most welcome on the following things:

    - Vegetables and fruit trees are growing, so daily care is needed. Water, mulching, adding green compost, pest management and giving love.

    - Clearing terraces from roots (meaning turning the soil and ripping them out). Intense physical work, which I always prefer doing with company!

    - Rebuilding some of the stone walls that were partially destroyed with the wildfires.

    - Cleaning the water streams from vegetation.

    - All help is welcome towards the project of re-building the stone ruin.
    We can get to work if we feel like we can do it!

    - Creating stairs and improving some of the walking paths.

    - I have dozens of Bamboo sticks (some quite thick), so possibilities to build structures/furniture or anything else is always open. If you have the skills awesome, if you just want to experiment (like me) awesome too.

    - Daily I pick up wood for fire in the evening

    Projects on my list (or that Im doing atm)
    - Build another dry toilet (this time made of clay)
    - Build a gate made of bamboo
    - Build a wood shed
    - Get a greenhouse on the land for year round veggies
    - Finish rebuilding the water pond
    - Dig the irrigation lines to water the terraces
    - Re build a part of the underground water tunnel

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Im happy to teach Portuguese language or English :)

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Camping is the only option at the moment.
    There is a big tent for the volunteers, one of those you can stand inside. I can provide blankets and pillows, bring your own if possible.
    Also space for your tent is available and/or also area to park your camper van.

    Meals will all be shared. I love to cook, so I will be happy to prepare the meals.

    Breakfast is a wholesome large bowl of oats with all things.
    I normally eat cooked food in the meals, with a large salad on the side.
    For snaking I normally have fruits, nuts and much more! Also edible flowers are growing around.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    For the time being, I have no electricity in the land. (no wifi)
    I have a small solar pannel to charge my phone, you can use that too.

    I normally work on the land in the morning, after lunch I am normally do siesta.
    At the end of the afternoon, if I feel energised, I might do a bit more.

    I would appreciate your help in the mornings, expecting nothing from your afternoon time. You are free!
    Hiking is in all directions, river is waiting down the hills for a swim.

    I will be happy to pick you up from the bus stop, or anywhere else you might be.
    I have a car, so we can adventure around and visit some awesome nature spots.
    Or anything else that might come up!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    At the moment clearing out the space to park a campervan! Will be on the top of the valley, at the entrance of the land. You will have a good view over the valley. A bit downhill, next to my camper, is the dry toilet.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 998333573269