1 / 2

Aidez-nous à agrandir notre jardin-forêt et décorer la maison, Norwood, Canada

  • Canada
  • Enregistré comme favori 10 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 avr. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    Richard and I have spent almost 20 years together exploring the world and the joys that life has to offer. For the 4 previous years before buying a home in the forest of Norwood, we were travelling and living on a motorhome. We knew the moment that we "landed" in Peterborough that this would be the place we began to grow our roots. We live in a strawbale home on 22.6 acres of mainly forest. We have put in a food forest, an organic swim pond, organic vegetable, herb and medicinal herb beds. We are working towards growing with the land. We had an amazing gentleman come and partner with us to teach permaculture classes. Alas covid hit and plans have stalled in that area for now. The land has trails in which to explore and a small labrinyth in which to hang out or meditate. We have a small medicine wheel placed here by those before us. We have two amazingly fantastic children who we love sharing this world with! We can't wait to share our Love for this land and life with those who are interested. And Love hearing the stories of those who visit. There is always work to be done on the land such as planting and weeding the gardens, building the wood shed, better clearing the labrinyth and trails, collecting wood that has been chopped,. We are willing to share our knowledge in any areas we can. From organic gardens tips, no tilling ideas to cooking or the ideas behind conscious creation. This is a fully vegan household and would like the potential wwoofer to respect that. What they eat outside of the home is totally up to them. We have no judgement of that, we just ask that in the home remains vegan. We can offer space in which to park a trailer or motorhome or to tent camp. We would expect 25 hours of help a week and would be giving room and board. Some meals will be shared, when we are around and others will be prepared by the workawayer or eaten solo. We enjoy communal meal times when life allows. We are a non smoking household and would not be comfortable with a smoker with two young children in the home. We are a fairly laid back family but are also very aware and respectful of other peoples needs and space. We are big on open communication and if any issues arise, (which we wouldn't forsee) we would much rather have an open conversation about them .Norwood is a great place with many other little towns near by or the city of Peterborough 1/2 hour away. There is a grocery store, bank, drug store, clothing store, post office and a few restaurants 10 minutes down the road in Norwood. Peterborough being a bigger place has much to offer. During the summer there are many festivals. From Music to Yoga to Fairies and Dragons! Peterborough hosts a monthly vegan potluck and has an amazing accessible community! There are a ton of hiking trials and places to swim nearby. We are located 12 minutes from the beach and some cool river swimming as well as the Petroglyphs. There is a small lake just down the road, not great for swimming but people kayak there. Lots of areas to explore. We have been here 5 years now and have only scratched the surface.

    A bit about our home: This is the largest single story load bearing Straw Bale building in Canada! (that we know of), while being surrounded by the beauty of the natural world. Thisn is a serene and peaceful straw bale home located in the serenity of the Kawartha countryside, 30 minutes from Peterborough. Nestled in 22 acres of enchanting hardwood forest with hiking trails, food forest, organic swim pond, , ornamental pond, organic vegetable and herb gardens and a chance to enjoy a multitude of birds at our backyard feeders or gather near the large brick fireplace that is the focal point of the environmentally friendly straw bale building. The natural setting is restoring and relaxing. This is an ideal location to inspire and energize you. A little about our business: Here we believe everyone has the ability to lead a life full of happiness and fulfillment. The services we offer are possibly the world's most powerful and effective methods for creating life-enhancing changes known to mankind. Here we uphold the highest standard of professionalism and quality. We specialize in personal attention and customer care. We are dedicated to serving our community and helping to empower our clients to live the life they have always dreamed of.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are happy to share all we have learned. Before living here we travelled on a motorhome for 4 years and once we landed we hit the ground running and have accomplished quite a lot in a short amount of time. We are happy to discuss alternative building ideas, organic gardens, how to implement a food forest or build a swim pond. Jennifer also has years as a Reiki Master, Hypnotherapist, Past Life Regressionist, among other things like crystal jewellry making. Richard works as a draftsman/ designer for the woodworking industry and CNCs. We are always happy to share anything we can with others.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We live on 23 acres in a strawbale home in Ontario, Canada. In the few years we have lived here we have created a the beginnings of a food forest, an organic swim pond and a myriad of organic gardens. Starting in April we will be adding to the Food forest, laying sand for our beach, planting in the gardens and decorating parts of our home. We will also be dismantling an older deck and pool to create more gardens. We are happy to have help in any of these areas. There is always wood to haul and firewood to chop as well as trails to clear at any time of year.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We have a bedroom with Queen bed or are always happy to welcome tenters or trailers. We are a fully vegan household. We often cook and eat together as a family but are flexible with others.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are numberous small towns near by and lovely lakes and rivers. A car is needed here in order to explore. The city of Peterborough is half an hour from us.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a small space at the front of our home where a camper or trailer can be parked. There are no septic services but can be dumped in a trailer park nearby.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 998131124438