Looking for a chicken/house sitter 3-5 days a week at our small permaculture homestead in Arizona, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 164 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    09.09.2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    About us:
    We are a family of 5 (mother, father and four children ages 1-10 years) juggling work, family duties, and the building of our permaculture homestead in the stunning high desert landscape along the US/Mexico border region of Cochise County, Arizona. We also run a nonprofit community garden program in the nearby city of Bisbee and are refurbishing an old miner's shack in Bisbee. We love gardening, exploring nature, cooking amazing meals, playing sports, caring for our animals, and participating in community building activities.

    The area:
    Our home is nestled in the beautiful Huachuca Mountain range within the Coronado National Forest, south of Sierra Vista, AZ. There is a creek that typically runs July-April within a 10 minute walk from our home, and many trails and hikes that can be easily accessed from our home. The San Pedro River Riparian Area, just a few miles away is another great natural wonder to visit, filled with majestic cottonwood trees and hundreds of species of wildlife to view. Besides the Huachuca's and the San Pedro, the Chiricahua and Dragoon Mountains Ranges offer more opportunity to explore the magnificent nature and deep history of our land. The nearby City of Bisbee is a major destination for art-centric visitors, history buffs, or those seeking a fun night out. It's an old mining town reinvented in the 70's by hippies. It is full of beautiful early 1900's architecture, art galleries, bars, vintage shops, and independent restaurants. Live music can be found around every corner, day and night. So much to see and do in Bisbee.

    The Homestead:
    A large single story 1990's stick-built home on 1 acre with a well. Our property is blessed with loads of mature pine trees and other lush landscaping for escaping the high temps that come with desert living. In the last year we have put in 16 fruit trees, as well as blackberries, raspberries, strawberries and vegetable gardens. We also started raising chickens for eggs this year and currently have a 20 bird flock. In our home we value music and we have a music room with a piano and other instruments that we encourage guests to play. We eat local and organic as much as possible and practice recycling and a fairly healthy lifestyle.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can teach what we know about permaculture, gardening, and the local flora and fauna. There will be opportunities to attend medicinal herb walks and community events. We can help with conversational spanish and provide day trip opportunities to neighboring towns in Mexico and also help with plans to travel in Mexico. If travelers are interested in community development, conservation, or community health, we can provide education in these areas of non-profit skill building. Cooking, fermenting, and baking are other skills we can offer.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for someone to watch our home and take care of our chickens while we alternate weeks in Bisbee doing a remodel job on a historic homesite there. There is also opportunity to help with construction. We would expect some help maintaining the house and garden while we are away to accomidate 15 hours a week of work time in exchange for a stay at our house.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Travelers will be provided with a queen size bed in our den/office, which would have mixed day use (IE:not a private space) Traveler will be expected to work a minimum of three hours per day, 5 days per week, or the equivilent thereof. Traveler will be expected to help with preparation and clean-up of meals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are many mountain ranges and other natural places to visit nearby. Bisbee, a 30 minute drive, is a popular place for artists and musicians of all ages. For a bigger scene, Tucson AZ is 1.5 hrs away.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 997299287953