Help in a tiny eco-village with lots of solar energy in Oaxaca, rural Mexico

Country

Mexique

Enregistré comme favori 215 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place in Tlachochahuaya (a small Mexican village 25km from Oaxaca City) is maybe the smallest Eco-village you can find. There are only 2 permanent residents! Still, it is a big (and young) project: It hosts two houses and a yurt, the 'Solar food processing training and production centre', a garden with lots of 'potential' (i.e. it is still small but a lot can be planted), a bunch of noisy but friendly dogs and a horse.
    The area is beautifully 'deserty' with nice walks between large cactus to be done. It is 1.2km from the village ('real Mexican life') which is another 23km from the city of Oaxaca.
    (By the way, the guy writing this - and your official host - is Michael, a Swiss living in Mexico for the last few years).

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be living in a Swiss-Mexican environment, have insight into the life in a Mexican village and have a chance to escape to the cultural live of Oaxaca city. One of the two of us speaks only little English, a perfect chance to practice Spanish.
    You can learn about eco-construction, solar living (we have solar electricity, hot water and cooking), organic gardening (we are not big experts, learning as well) and solar food processing (which is the more commercial side of solar cooking).

  • Aide

    Aide

    NEXT WORKAWAY OPPORTUNITY: I can host 1 or 2 people FROM IMMEDIATELY TO DECEMBER 23. It will be mostly gardening tasks, cutting grass and other plants, watering, preparing vegetable beds as well as planting. Some general maintenance work.

    GENERAL INFORMATION: The tasks where you can help is variable: Probably in the garden (watering plants (!), planting cactus or vegetables, compost, biochar, etc.), maintenance of the farm (there is always something to be fixed), eco-construction. (You might look after the horse IF you are experienced in that).
    Be note that you might be doing the tasks alone and it is not always a 'group experience'.
    The normal time to stay is one or two weeks. Basic food is provided, if you like something particular or you are a heavy consumer of something (honey, ...) please bring some with you.
    LEGAL REMARK: You need to have your own health and accident insurance.

  • Langues parlées

    German: Courant
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You might stay in our yurt*️️️️️️️️️ (which will be cold at night and hot during daytime), have a shared shower (hot water comes in a bucket) and compost toilet outside. Everything is very basic and 'rustic', but we do have internet ;-) . Food is vegetarian, you are invited to cook as well.
    The place is usually very quite and sometimes lonely. You should not be afraid of nature (including spiders, scorpions, ...), barking dogs at night, silent moments and staying off civilisation (our nearest neighbours are about 500m away). I think it is best for two friends or a couple.
    Electricity (from 3 solar panels) is limited. You can charge a phone, tablet or laptop and there is light at night. But you cannot use devices that use more electricity.

    *️️️️️️️️️ If the yurt is rented or the nights are freezing cold, you sleep inside the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your spare time you can discover nature, admire starry nights, eat local snacks or ice cream in the village, ... or go to the city of Oaxaca where there are a lot of culture and folkloric events. The city is between 45 minutes and 1 1/2 hours by shared taxi or bus from the village (very cheap). For coming back after 9PM you will need a private taxi (10$US). From the farm to the village it is a 15 - 20 minutes walk, you can also use a bike or a 'mototaxi' (Indian Rickshaw).
    Oaxaca has some excellent touristic spots for the weekend and I advice you to add a trip to the incredible beaches of Oaxaca's Pacific coast before or after your stay (7 hours by microbus from Oaxaca).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    One place for 'Overlanders' available, but it has little shade.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 996633834166