Come see one of the most remote parts of the earth while you help us with our home and yard in Haida Gwaii, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 21 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello from Haida Gwaii, formerly the Queen Charlotte Islands!

    Our little house is almost 100 years old and could use some help with interior painting, shop organization, the yard, and odd projects around the home in exchange for the experience of living here for a bit. This is one of the most remote places on earth, and under Haida rule primarily.

    We have been on Workaway site for a bit but we travel often, and have not yet found a fit where someone is coming when we are also there! If you have skills with painting, organizing, building shelving, or yard projects, and want to see Haida Gwaii, reach out!

    Note: We are not close to a city or many 'specialty eating' places (either groceries or restaurants). This is a rugged community and we eat a lot off the land (fish, kelp, cockles, deer, berries). In our house, we eat what our family hunts and gathers, in addition to store-bought food. If we are eating together, please know we will be eating what we have caught. We are not vegetarians.

    We have a sweet private upstairs area for guests, with its own washroom, if you chose to come visit!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Haida Gwaii is one of the most remote places on the planet. The biodiversity here is endless.

    It's mostly outdoorsy people. The community is a mixture of Haida First Nations and non-indigenous people, a lot of very interesting folk who are not interested in cities.

    This is a fishing and nature community that is physically remarkable, ocean-bound, lots of rivers, and lots of things to do if you love the natural world!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Carpentry, creating shelving, interior painting, gardening, wood pile, landscaping, fence building, yard cleanup, shop organization. We live in a very abundant territory and the garden grows fast!!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I speak French and Spanish quite well when I am in that environment, rusty right now as I am using only English. I would love to have a french or Spanish speaker here so I could practice those languages and help the person out with English. I speak only a few key phrases of my indigenous language (Onkwehonkwe) and would welcome a Haudenausaune speaker here to learn from. Also my ancestral languages are Dutch and German, which I would also like to learn.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a spare room with its own washroom. It’s a private space in the house. We are happy to share offer our kitchen and meals in accordance with the standards here on this site. If you would like three meals shared and 4-5 hours per day of work, 5 days a week, we are happy to provide them.

    For a more relaxed exchange, we can offer one meal a day, 5 days a week, in exchange for no more than 15 hours work per week. We are flexible and want you to enjoy Daajiing Giids!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Time off here is the natural world. We are close to incredible hikes, rivers and campgrounds. There are no movie theatres and stuff like that here, but there are a handful of little restaurants, and good grocery stores. Lots of artists here too.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We are happy to exchange internet for help in the home.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    You can park here but need your own power and sani if you are settled on living in your van. We can also provide a guest room for you which is quite private, upstairs, near a washroom that can be yours while you are here (there are 2 other washrooms).

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    yes!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 993384862252