mis à jour  

Sustainability, social and economic change in Whangateau, Auckland, New Zealand

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 1664 fois
  • Activité récente: 4 déc. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    I am an organic farmer, wiccan, herbal healing balm maker, taxation consultant and English language teacher and live with my daughter, her partner and my grandchildren on our 20 acre natural agriculture/permaculture/organic property. We also have a local NZ guy who lives on the property and who helps out with paid work on our farm and on other local properties. His two children also stay regularly with him on our farm.
    I love growing food for the family, flowers and trees and creating gardens everywhere on the farm so I need help with small farm animals and in the plant nursery and gardens where we grow, using organic methods/natural agriculture methodology either food or plants. There is also general housework, cleaning and if you have the skills, office and computer help from time to time.
    I also love Art so anyone who wants to paint a mural or make signs for the property is most welcome. We also look for interested people to help complete the community earth oven on the farm if they are able to long-stay and they need to know about working with clay,
    We are surrounded by trees and live close to a beautiful harbour at Whangateau. We are open to people working for less hours a week in exchange for accommodation only or for longer hours in exchange for accommodation and food. We are not vegetarian but eat lots of vegetables every day. Families and children are sometimes welcome.
    My dream is to establish an environmental education school for children to learn about sustainable agriculture, the interaction of land and the ocean environment and I would love help from people who are interested in sustainable environmental and social and economic change for the future of the planet. The school when it is set up will be a charity association. At present we are working in the gardens, plant nursery and cleaning up a close by property that we also own.
    In 2022 I ran my first workshop in Astrology for adults and will continue to run astrology, spiritual and wiccan workshops from April 2023.
    We also have local home-school children coming to enjoy the outdoor space on a regular basis and with the charity up and running by the end of 2023 we should be having more children coming to enjoy the natural environment we have created.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am a trained english language teacher so can help people with their english plus I have traveled extensively in the world and am comfortable with different cultures and am happy to share my life experience. I love to cook and share recipes and I am happy to introduce people to the natural environment of NZ through my knowledge of medicinal native plants, herbs, natural agriculture and permaculture. I am interested in discussing world affairs and how we can change the world even as an individual. I am involved in my local community as a volunteer through groups like Greenswap, Mahurangi WasteBusters, The Matakana Community Garden, Whangateau Resident and Ratepayers and so you can tag along and help or just watch these happenings and see how people live in NZ when they are part of a community.

  • Aide


    We are an organic natural agriculture/permaculture property and have set up the property for environmental education for children , teaching astrology, wiccan spiritual workshops for adults, wiccan sabbat family events marking seasonal change and as a place for groups to meet to learn natural healing, yoga, healthy eating, growing food etc. Currently we grow indoor and outdoor plants for sale, produce herbal healing balms and teas from plants grown on the farm and run some of the above workshops for children and adults.

    We have an unfinished community earth oven project as part of the community education we hope in the future to offer as part of a charitable education programme but we need longer stay skilled persons in order to complete this project.

    Currently workawayers generally help me with the personal chores around the small farm animals, the garden, the house, firewood collection, cooking, cleaning, some building, painting depending on peoples skills and what time of year it is. These chores have nothing to do with the business activities of the property

    Although I am self employed and running a business activity from the farm I do not use workawayers for this business work.

    For being part of our extended household and helping out in the gardens and around the house we offer accommodation and food.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Maori: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am a training English Second language teacher and do voluntary English teaching via Zoom of children whose parents once volunteered at our farm years before. My son-in-law is German and we are always interested to have that language around for the benefit of the three grandchildren. My partner is French so I can always use more tuition in that language.

  • Hébergement


    we have 2 individual cabins (one has a single bed-one has a double bed) and a small single bed room up in the office barn space. We have a separate kitchen if people only work for their accommodation so they can cook. Sometimes we supply food and get those staying to prepare their own meals especially if they have a diet that differs from our own or in the family need space to themselves. We have both compost and flushing toilets available, several shared lounge spaces and various other very basic accommodation spaces in another building on the farm property. The farm is not a "middle-class" place as it has been a farm for more than 100years and so buildings are older, have been recycled from being once homes for animals and more emphasis placed by me on the natural environment than on the houses, however, they are dry, clean and if you like nature you will love this place with its glowworms, its waterfall, gardens, fruit and native forest and the nearby beach.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 1km walking distance from the Whangateau Harbour and close to Tawharanui Regional Park, Omaha, Pakiri ocean beaches, Matheson Bay, Leigh and Matakana. There is a weekly market at Matakana which is a tourist highlight. Hitchhiking locally is very easy but there is also a bus in Matakana which is 8km from the farm. There are walking tracks, a waterfall by the farm and an 8km walk to Tamahunga Mountain and Pakiri Beach. We have had over 1,000 helpers stay with us from around the world and we have 3 generations living at the farm.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We live up a quiet road and there is some parking available for larger vehicles.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    As long as their pet is able to behave itself around our animals we have no problem.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 991268184664

Feedback (10)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)

Help with gardening, close to Kerikeri in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand
Vous partez explorer la Nouvelle-Zélande ? Commencez par Auckland !