Come and help us with our project house in the beautiful Annapolis Valley, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 45 fois
  • Activité récente: 16 mars 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family with a 'project house' in Meadowvale, Nova Scotia.

    A bit about us:

    -We love travelling in 'unconventional' ways that let us see beyond the usual tourist lens and we have history being involved in couchsurfing and work exchange communities.
    -We moved to the Annapolis Valley in spring 2023 after living and working all across Canada, including Ontario, Yukon, and British Columbia.
    -We are currently in the middle of renovating an old house and restoring the gardens/greenspaces on 1/3 an acre.
    -We also have an 8 acre woodlot about 20 minutes away where we might occasionally do some projects.
    -We have a 3 year old son who loves playing, learning, and getting dirty.
    -We love animals. We have a 16 year old domestic short haired cat and a 6 year old Alaskan Husky.
    -We love the outdoors. We are always camping, hiking, and taking advantage of outdoor sport opportunities, no matter the season.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In your down time, you could explore the beautiful Annapolis Valley region. We are happy to show you around and share our county with you as much as we are able. Of course you can also explore independently as well! We have lots of interesting recommendations we can share with you. If we are heading out on any type of outdoor adventure while you are here, you are more than welcome to join in if you are interested. We strive to make sure that every traveller feels like home while they are with us.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    What we are looking for in a helper:

    -clean, respectful, & polite
    -flexible, willing to learn, & open to assisting in changing ways
    -friendly, willing to hang out or be independent as the situation allows
    -strong work ethic
    -detail oriented
    -ability to take instructions and work independently
    -likes children and animals and willing to assist with them, though this is not the whole purpose of the exchange

    In return, we ask that travellers provide approximately up to 4-5 hours a day or up to 20-25 hours a week of help/assistance as detailed below. We try to be very flexible with timing, as we want you to enjoy your time here in Nova Scotia. How much assistance we need will also depend on what our schedules are, what season it is, and what projects we have ongoing at the time. Typically, we would be looking for a bit of time during the day while we are at work for help with daily household chores and maintenance, and 3-4 days a week we would need help during the afternoons/early evenings (approximately 4-8pm). This is because most of the renovation work we need to do after our normal jobs on evenings and weekends. We hope to find people who are quick learners and who are keen to practice new skills independently. We will do the best we can to lay out the tasks and time commitments required on a weekly basis so that our travellers can make the most of their time here. It will never be more than the maximum of 5 day a week and 5 hours a day.

    We are looking for someone who is reasonably handy and is willing to lend a hand with day-to-day activities, as well as garden and renovation projects. Our project house has been a really interesting learning experience. We have decided to do most of the work ourselves as we are reasonably experienced (especially Tyler), but we are pretty busy so it is an ongoing process. We are hoping to find a helper who would be willing to learn some basic skills to assist with our projects. Bonus points if you already have some skills to share, but it's not required. This can be a shared learning experience!! It is a fun, relaxed, and low-key environment - not a job site.

    Examples of day-to-day include:

    -cutting grass & tending to gardens/plants
    -tending to compost, caring for outdoor spaces
    -basic household chores
    -cleaning up after the animals
    -walking/running the dog
    -sharing food responsibilities (shopping, cooking, cleaning up)

    Examples of current/upcoming gardening and renovation projects:

    -patching & repairing drywall
    -installing interior window trim
    -painting
    -building shelves
    -installing cupboard hardware
    -kitchen backsplash
    -installing vinyl flooring
    -installing insulation
    -repairing fencing, decking, and siding
    -building different types of garden beds & planters
    -pruning trees and shrubs
    -seeding grass and flower areas
    -planning and preparing for garden areas

    We are looking for helpers that would be willing to stay with us for approximately 1-4 weeks (give or take). If your stay goes well and schedules allow, we would be willing to consider longer stays on a case by case basis. The minimum we are requesting is one week, however we might accept something shorter if there are special circumstances.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Clare is working on improving French language skills. A French speaker who can provide a positive and friendly environment for practicing would be very welcome!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    What we can offer our helpers:

    -A queen bed in the garage loft. The loft is unheated, so we are only able to host exchanges during the three warmer seasons (approximately April to September). In the future we hope to reinsulate and install a small pellet stove - for now, we have lots of blankets and space heaters just in case! The loft is spacious and can easily accommodate 1 person, a couple, or two people who are otherwise willing to share a bed. We would consider a couple with a child, but you will need to bed share or have your own arrangements for the child's sleeping (e.g. an air mattress or cot).
    -Free room and board as if you were a family member, including: wifi, bathroom, kitchen, living spaces, laundry. We are on septic and well and thus ask that you respect our efforts to conserve water.
    -Tips and travelling advice for the area. We have lots of guidebooks for you to look through and great local insights!
    -The option to join us on any of our outdoor adventuring.
    -Basic food & meals: we will ensure there is sufficient food in the house for our normal habits (small breakfast and lunch, dinner, and snacks). Above and beyond this is the responsibility of the traveller(s). We do not follow a specific diet but we strive to eat healthy, balanced meals as much as possible and will do the best we can to be flexible to unique dietary restrictions and preferences.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The Annapolis Valley is a fantastic place to explore the quiet calm of Atlantic Canada's countryside, while close enough to visit the beautiful city of Halifax. There is much to do here like hiking, mountain biking, swimming in lakes and oceans, ocean sports, and much more. The landscape ranges from oceanside fishing towns, to idyllic farmlands, to vast crown lands like Kejimkujik National Park, to beautiful bluffs and beaches. Halifax is approximately a 1.5 hour drive, and there is also a ferry to New Brunswick. Basic public transport is available, but you may wish to consider having your own vehicle available for maximum independence.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Tyler works full time outside of the home as a carpenter. Clare works a hybrid work schedule, mostly from home. We are happy to host workawayers who work a remote job, as long as you are still able to prioritize contributions to our exchange.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a driveway and carport area where a campervan could be parked if needed. It is not particularly private, but you are welcome to use this option.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We welcome pets as long as they are friendly and housetrained.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 989618998463

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Join our family and help with school run and afternoon activities in Kitchener, Canada
Help make a rural property wildfire safe and enjoy a great arts community in the mountains of British Columbia, Canada