Besoin d'un coup de main pour du jardinage/bricolage et des projets artistiques à Rahane, Ecosse, Royaume-Uni



Enregistré comme favori 306 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    Hi there, we are Ben and Craig.

    Thanks to all of you who visited during 2021 and all those who tried but had to cancel due to Covid 19.

    What a year! Frightening, scary and life changing.

    We are still renovating the roof in part of the house and this will go into 2022, but we still have room for one Workaway at a time, though we could stretch to two depending upon circumstances. Talk to us.

    Obviously everything will be entirely dependent upon Covid restrictions in the UK and other countries as we all need to remain safe, however if the restrictions lift we will be looking for Workaways from March to October 2022. We are very aware of cleaning and health protocols which are maintained at all times here to protect from C-19, and we keep up to date on any restrictions in our area, in Scotland, and the wider UK.

    We have a large house and garden, which we wanted to turn into a Bed and Breakfast and glamping establishment however due to the costs of Covid, the Covid restrictions and the fact that we are restoring our roof this will not happen.

    Covid has been life changing and has certainly affected us, our way of life, our income and our way of thinking.

    The garden is very big and goes uphill and the garden had not been touched for 25 years! You can imagine what it looked like.

    I have spent the last 5 years, with help from many Workaways, landscaping the garden to create restful and peaceful areas for people to create time and space to think, relax and de-stress. We encourage people to come and visit us to simply enjoy the garden, the scenery and the calmness.

    I have a dream/vision to encourage charities which look after vulnerable people, and also people from the city, to simply come and spend some time here and relax in the garden - to create an 'escape' for them.

    We want to encourage artists and story tellers to use the garden, as Craig is a good artist and photographer and I write stories. I have a fantasy novel published and love writing fiction and telling stories and some of Craig's art work is out in the garden.

    We have both done many things over the years - I have been a chef, we have run a hotel, I have been a Director of 3 companies - 2 national and one International, and we have both worked abroad and travelled extensively. We love to share our thoughts, experiences and learnings that we have amassed over the years.

    We live in a beautiful area and have a large garden we simply want to share - the peace and enjoy the space.

    There is still much to do in the garden; digging, carrying gravel up the hill (fairly steep), concreting, helping me build walls and steps, weeding, planting - to create colour and joy, pruning, cutting down bushes, making outdoor shelters (it rains a lot on the West Coast of Scotland). I do all of these projects myself and with help from friends and Workaways, so I can show you how to lay drains, build walls, and concrete as well as what to think about when landscaping a garden on a hill.

    We have much wildlife visit us in the garden; a huge variety of birds including Goldfinches and Buzzards, plus 3 stags, 2 hinds and their offspring come into the garden, squirrels, owls, foxes, pine martens - amongst many. There is a forest right next to us.

    We also have 3 dogs and 2 cats, so help will be needed, occasionally, to look after them, though I am around most of the time, as nearly all my business work is now conducted online at home.

    We live by a Loch called Gareloch on the West Coast of Scotland which is an area rich with beautiful landscapes and history, and will be very happy to show people around the area and introduce them to the sights and history. We are great cooks and enjoy entertaining and supporting those who wish to learn more about Scotland and its history. We will support you with improving your English if required and will get you involved in art and story telling

    Craig is a senior manager and Ben runs his own training consultancy and coaching business, so we are also able to support though teaching you about business and coaching, if this is of interest to any Workaway.

    We are learning to speak Spanish so anybody from Spain would be welcome :)

    Please do get in touch if you're interested in staying with us and helping out.

    Happy travels and visits to you all wherever you go.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are good hosts and will take time to assist people with their language skills, take them out and about the area to learn more about the West Coast of Scotland, show you the sights; Arrochar Alps, Loch Lomond, Inverary castle and other castles, Glasgow and areas around the City. We may take you to our local cinema in an old church, out for meals in restaurants, walks with the dogs.
    For those that are interested in Coaching we also can coach you to improve your Coaching skills, sharing techniques and practice, and also are happy to share tips and techniques for Leadership.
    We also love art and story telling so can teach you or share practice around art and story telling.

    We all have dinner together at 18.30hr and often we are still sitting at the table with a bottle of wine chatting at 23.00hr and sometimes later. Conversations are great, funny and occasionally challenging as we are lucky to have people staying from all over the world.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    From March to October we are looking for people to help out in the garden with tree and bush cutting, digging, creating landscapes and rockeries, planting, helping to build a shed, laying drains and moving earth and rocks, helping me build retaining walls, lay drains etc. I will be doing these projects with you and showing you what to do and how to do it, so I hope you will learn some outdoor skills. Also there is help needed to look after the dogs and cats occasionally.

    - We do expect a minimum of 5 hours a day between 09.00 - 17.00hr, and for that we ensure you get good accommodation and food.
    - For those who like to 'go the extra mile', and are willing and keen, we are happy to take you out and about around the area and treat you to the cinema, restaurants and attractions.
    - This is a project for those who are motivated, keen, have initiative, are good doing tasks on their own and with others, and are happy to help alongside me outside doing a variety of projects.
    - There is much opportunity to get involved in art projects and story telling so if this interests you please come visit. For example we have many objects that we have found here and on the beach which we wish to turn into art - this is something that you could help with and create your own sculpture.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    We have 5 bedrooms, one has an ensuite, a main bathroom, and a downstairs shower and 2 toilets. You would be very much part of the household and share all other amenities within the house; Sky television, Netflix, internet, a sitting room, a dining room, a study/library, sun-room, kitchen, scullery and large gardens.

    Breakfast would be a help yourself as well as lunch, and the fridge and pantry will be well stocked, however we will cook all evening meals and evening meals at the weekend.

    As you will be part of the 'family' we will expect you to clean up after yourselves and share in the general cleaning of the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Although in the countryside, we are about 20 minutes from the nearest Town, we have local bus services - 1 every hour, taxis and a train goes to Glasgow every half hour from the local Town. We are 15 minutes drive from Loch Lomond and the Trossachs one of the most beautiful areas of Scotland.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours max, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 982239978299