Help me finish my Tiny House and enjoy paddleing/fishing with a former guide, in the BWCAW, minnesota USA



Enregistré comme favori 126 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

  • Description


    Come Paddle the BWCAW and Help me finish my Tiny Home and green house.

    Ideally looking for two to three people. One person to stay in small pickup camper (starting in May)and two people to stay in Tiny house from June on (at least a month) Camper and TH are on 2 separate private lots. Both are off grid, limited power and water. Composting privy. A vehicle is advised. Ukrainians Welcome!)

    Assist me for one to two months with various tasks: Landscaping, light carpentry, painting, working with power tools, tree/brush cutting, ect. Projects to be worked on: Finish TH with flower boxes, landscaping, ect. Also assist with
    With 46 by 28ft Green house erection and 30x30 walk-out basement.

    I am an artist/builder/professional guide who design/builds, and have guided canoe trips in the summer and WA travels in the winter. I enjoy meeting new folks, creating living spaces with up-cycled material and taking people into the BWCAW. I enjoy good conversation, bonfires and a glass of beer or wine in the evening. I like to cook with people and will provide food or monetary compensation.

    The town of Ely Minnesota (10 minutes by car) is a tourist destination with a population of five thousand in the winter, many times that in the summer.

    I have been a Workawayer for the past 6 years(see reference letter) and have met some extraordinary workawayers, and hosts. I enjoy meeting new people, co-creating and sharing the experience of paddling and fishing in the Boundary Waters.

    W.A. REF LETTER ———-

    To whom it may concern,
    This letter is to con rm that Tom has been a member of the Volunteering abroad website “Workaway” since 09/12/2013 and has successfully participated in 5 different Workaway projects as a volunteer abroad. During his placement time he has demonstrated a high level of adaptability when working with other cultures and demonstrated exibility and creativity in problem-solving. This is proven by his capability to work in a challenging environment under unfamiliar situations and overcoming the cultural difference barriers with unfamiliar groups of people. We have no hesitation in saying that Mr. ——- is aware, independent and Mr. —— would be an excellent asset for any company. He is highly recommended by 5 of our veried project hosts we work with who have left him feedbacks as follows:

    Tom stayed a couple nights at my spot and helped us with an earthbag project. He was hard-working and a great help! He’s a very self-sufficient capable person with a big heart. Thanks Tom! Hope to see you again!
    25/03/2019 - Joshua Tree, California
    If you get the chance to host Tom, go for it. We have progressed a lot in the 10 days he has been here. His warmth and humour make him an easy person to work and live with and his knowledge and skills have boosted us forward in our project. Thanks Tom for all your help it is much appreciated. The kitchen looks great and we are excited about the hens new laying coop. Wishing you much happiness on your path.
    09/03/2017 - Portugal
    We all loved having Tom stay. He was so easy to live with and so very, very helpful, supportive and just plain good company. Come visit again and we will hopefully come see you too one day.
    13/04/2016 - New Zealand

    I still cannot get over the fact, that Tom is not with us here anymore - he needed to start moving back home. I so wish his home would be here, somewhere near. He became much more than just a helper: a friend and a family. it was very hard for me to separate.
He is a truly amazing person: full of good humour, very wise, always in good mood and terribly funny! Honestly, i think i laughed about 90% of a time with him. :)
    He is also very knowledgeable and skillful, and has a solution for pretty much any challenging task. And even more: he is not scared of any crazy ideas and can create a castle out of nothing! He helped a lot in renovating my ocean house (rebuilt terrace, organised shelving in my garage, created amazing-piece-of-art replace cover from the recycled boards of the shed, etc etc etc etc). Not much would be done without his advice, support and hands-on experience.
    He is also amazing with kids and my 3 year old son was always very happy around him (and still mentions Tom’s name all the time!).
Really really miss him already!
    03/04/2016 - Natalija Mak, New Zealand

    Tom spent a couple of weeks at our house working on outdoor projects. He built an amazing chicken coop out of pallets as well as some outdoor stairs. He took pride in his work and produced outstanding quality. He also spent time playing with our daughter and had a natural way with kids. He even learned how to sing Incy Wincy Spider - well most of it. ;-)
    It was a pleasure to have Tom stay with us and we all enjoyed the many chats we had and the time spent together. We look forward to visiting you one day and seeing your own chicken house.
    PS: We will let you know when the chickens start laying eggs!!
    28/01/2016 - Australia


    Tom was our first workawayer and he was such a great start into this experience of working with volunteers, and such a treat.
    Not only was he able to help us with the construction project we had in mind for him - he renovated a bathroom for us. He did a really great job, was willing to incorporate our wishes and ideas, and was really helpful.
    In addition to his skills, he was also a great person to hang out with. Sensitive, curious, able to make us laugh a lot.
    We are so grateful for his presence here at our guest house.
    We would highly recommend him for any and all further projects.
    21/03/2014 - Mexico


  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am an Artist/Designer/Builder and like to travel and enjoy conversation. I have 30 years of helping people design logos and years of traveling to other countries and helping people design and build projects. I am a good and patient teacher and wilderness guide.

  • Aide


    Chainsaw, brush clearing, construction, building, painting,

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    22ft. Camper/caravan, a small camper and lots of private land for camping

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The town of Ely is a destination vacation town where people come from all over the world to paddle in the BWCAW, fish and recreate. It has many outfitters, bars, restaurants, and coffee shops. I can also offer a (one night) guided canoe trip into the BWCA for a longer stay.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 978458397559